Chicken Chili Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was so good! I actually used "El Pato" Jalapeno flavored tomato sauce from the Hispanic section of the grocery store instead of diced tomatoes. I also used a bit more cumin in it. It was so delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilith88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I used a combination of red, orange and yellow organic peppers and I threw in a bunch of fresh minced garlic and three coarsely chopped zucchini in with the chopped veggies/chicken. Instead of kidney beans, I used organic black beans because that's what I had on hand. I used organic chicken broth instead of water to add a little more flavor and after tasting it, I added in onion powder, ground coriander, oregano, paprika, and a little Splenda brown sugar blend and threw in a bit more cumin and chili powder. This soup is very tasty. I highly recommend using all organic ingredients if you can and really adding the extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent!! I added a habenero and a jalapeno and doubled the chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We love this recipe, but make it with a lot of changes. I cook my chicken on the foreman grill, then shred it and season it for tacos. I then make the soup like the recipe states, except I use chili beans rather than kidney beans. I add seasonings (cumin, chili powerd, cayenne, etc) until it has as much spice as we like. We top ours with onions, diced dill pickles, shredded cheese and sour cream. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent!!! Very filling and delicious, thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
skip the peppers, use canned chicken! great for wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was pretty tasty although not spiced enough for us. It did improve over a few days - i took some for lunch on day 3 and it was much improved. YOu might want to eiher increase the chili spice again or I will try cooking my chicken in spices a la chicken tacos before I add it to the soup. 6/29/10 - update: yep, we do soup in the summer too! tweaking this with black beans instead of kidney and upped the corn. omg. my son is addicted! this freezes nicely as well and goes nicely in the crockpot on low while i am at work. again, great recipe - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Doubled this for a large group. Used dry beans (pinto and black) and simmered in 2 crock pots all day. I was very happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I've used this recipe so many times in the last 2 yrs and it always turns out great! I like to add cilantro and sub one can of black beans for one kidney when I make it with chicken. Otherwise I do a typical chili with ground beef. I also don't add the red or green peppers because my hubby doesn't like them in his chili. As for other comments on the lack of flavor, just add salt, pepper, and a little hot sauce if you like it hot. The amt of other spices are perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I halved this recipe (it makes a LOT)! I didn't use as much green & red pepper or chicken as called for (seemed like too much to me), and I added a full can of corn. I also threw in some brown rice I had cooked up. I think the seasoning blend was perfect for my tastes, I really enjoyed this! I threw everything in a crockpot on high for about 90 minutes before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States