Chicken Chile Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I was looking for a crock pot recipe and stumbled across this one. EXCELLENT in the crock pot with the following modifications. I used one pound of pasta. Only cook pasta 1/2 the recommended cooking time on package. It will not be done yet, but will finish softening up in crock pot. Totally omitted butter. Added 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of cream of chicken soup to crock pot along with other ingredients. Cooked on low for 6 hours....DELICIOUS. I also used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the grocery store unstead of boiling one. Thanks for sharing this one...not your normal chicken spaghetti...has a great spicy kick and very colorful for a pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
My three boys and husband all loved this recipe. I did make a few changes though. They don't like celery or green pepper so I left out the celery and I used red bell pepper instead of green. I didn't use any butter and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also used grated cheese instead of cubed processed cheese. With these changes everyone had thirds, and if I can get ALL my boys to agree on something you know it is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe and it was a nice change of pace. I used fresh mushroom and added red pepper flakes when I was sauteeing the vegtables for a little extra kick. I also subsituted mozzarella cheese for the processed cheese and the result was less creamy than I think it was intended to be. If you decide to do this, I would reduce the amount of pasta by 1/3. This was a great recipe that we will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
It would have been surprising had this recipe NOT tasted good.... it only has A POUND of Velveeta in it! lol! This was a really good recipe...here are my slight changes (cheats): Used a rotisserie chicken. Used canned broth. I followed others' suggestions and was sure to use ONLY 12 oz pasta, which was just right (whole box of 16oz would have been too much). I also added additional chicken broth which kept this dish oh-so-gooey and moist. How much extra chicken broth? Just enough to make the mixture the consistency of pancake batter. Oh and we like spicy, so I used the MEXICAN velveeta instead of the regular. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! I ate 2 plates and I've only had 2 plates in one sitting one other time in the past 6 months of new recipes. The only thing I changed was I boiled 2 bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken (it was on sale so it was the cheapest way to go). 2 things, next time I'm inviting ppl over b/c it makes a ton! Also, if you have small children you may want to use regular diced tomatoes instead of Rotel. My b/f and I love hot stuff so we enjoyed it, but little kids may find it a little too hot. Thanks for the awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Wilds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe was excellent! It makes a lot of food, but the leftovers are great too. My picky 18 month old ate two helpings. I will make this one again for sure. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was great. I made all of mine in the slow cooker and added real mushrooms, can of cream of chicken, chicken broth and mexican velvetta. I added the noodles about halfway through cooking. I cooked mune for 6 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Pretty good recipe. The name is a little misleading, It is more of a chicken chili mac and cheese. I added black olives just because my family loves them so much, used fresh mushrooms and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of fiesty nacho cheese soup since I was using my home canned tomatoes that didn't have the peppers in them. I also added more garlic, onion, Chili powder, and salt & Pepper. But I'm sure this recipe stands just fine on its own. I did find the nacho cheese soup a great addition to this so I would highly recommend adding it again even if using the right tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My family loved it! I cooked the chicken in the crock pot all day to save a little time in the evening and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Prep time was a lot more than 15 minutes. That would have gotten it four stars, but it was soooooo good. Made exactly by the recipe. Even topped with shredded cheese. I will definitely use this recipe again, only next time I'll buy the already chopped veggies, and will probably use less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Spaghetti II

See how to make a cheesy, quick-and-easy pasta sauce for spaghetti.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States