Chicken Chile Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I was looking for a crock pot recipe and stumbled across this one. EXCELLENT in the crock pot with the following modifications. I used one pound of pasta. Only cook pasta 1/2 the recommended cooking time on package. It will not be done yet, but will finish softening up in crock pot. Totally omitted butter. Added 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of cream of chicken soup to crock pot along with other ingredients. Cooked on low for 6 hours....DELICIOUS. I also used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the grocery store unstead of boiling one. Thanks for sharing this one...not your normal chicken spaghetti...has a great spicy kick and very colorful for a pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
My three boys and husband all loved this recipe. I did make a few changes though. They don't like celery or green pepper so I left out the celery and I used red bell pepper instead of green. I didn't use any butter and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also used grated cheese instead of cubed processed cheese. With these changes everyone had thirds, and if I can get ALL my boys to agree on something you know it is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe and it was a nice change of pace. I used fresh mushroom and added red pepper flakes when I was sauteeing the vegtables for a little extra kick. I also subsituted mozzarella cheese for the processed cheese and the result was less creamy than I think it was intended to be. If you decide to do this, I would reduce the amount of pasta by 1/3. This was a great recipe that we will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
It would have been surprising had this recipe NOT tasted good.... it only has A POUND of Velveeta in it! lol! This was a really good recipe...here are my slight changes (cheats): Used a rotisserie chicken. Used canned broth. I followed others' suggestions and was sure to use ONLY 12 oz pasta, which was just right (whole box of 16oz would have been too much). I also added additional chicken broth which kept this dish oh-so-gooey and moist. How much extra chicken broth? Just enough to make the mixture the consistency of pancake batter. Oh and we like spicy, so I used the MEXICAN velveeta instead of the regular. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! I ate 2 plates and I've only had 2 plates in one sitting one other time in the past 6 months of new recipes. The only thing I changed was I boiled 2 bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken (it was on sale so it was the cheapest way to go). 2 things, next time I'm inviting ppl over b/c it makes a ton! Also, if you have small children you may want to use regular diced tomatoes instead of Rotel. My b/f and I love hot stuff so we enjoyed it, but little kids may find it a little too hot. Thanks for the awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Wilds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe was excellent! It makes a lot of food, but the leftovers are great too. My picky 18 month old ate two helpings. I will make this one again for sure. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was great. I made all of mine in the slow cooker and added real mushrooms, can of cream of chicken, chicken broth and mexican velvetta. I added the noodles about halfway through cooking. I cooked mune for 6 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Pretty good recipe. The name is a little misleading, It is more of a chicken chili mac and cheese. I added black olives just because my family loves them so much, used fresh mushrooms and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of fiesty nacho cheese soup since I was using my home canned tomatoes that didn't have the peppers in them. I also added more garlic, onion, Chili powder, and salt & Pepper. But I'm sure this recipe stands just fine on its own. I did find the nacho cheese soup a great addition to this so I would highly recommend adding it again even if using the right tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was great. I added 1 cup white wine and 1 can chicken broth, and used a rotisserie chicken to save time. I used red pepper instead of green and reduced fat Velveeta. Vermacelli dries out easily, but is easily fixed by adding broth. When microwaving the next day, just add a little milk, and it won't be dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
great! Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Spaghetti II

See how to make a cheesy, quick-and-easy pasta sauce for spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States