Chicken Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Fun to try a traditional Indian recipe. Most curries in the U.S. have curry powder in them but I didn't miss it in here at all. This dish was very flavorful. I added some cooked potatoes which I already had and some peas and carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very delicious, wonderful blend of spices, my husband ejoyed it and is from India but suggested I add a little yogurt next time to increase the amount of the gravy. Curry chicken is one of his favorite dishes but he prefers more gravy. He also suggested adding some serrano peppers or indian chilies. It is great served over Basmati rice. Thanks Madhu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardiacrn1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious! I made a few changes though... I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes instead of one fresh tomato, added 2 tsp cumin, carrots, mushrooms and bell pepper. Also, I don't know what ghee is and I didn't have any cilantro, so I omitted those. I used 1/2tsp ground cardamom instead of the pods. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great, I add 1 cup of water and yogurt at the very end and turned out great. Thanks for the recipe. Family loved it. Husband went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this recipe last night, & it is a keeper. It was flavorful & slightly exotic. My meat & potatoes crew wanted seconds. The only change I made was to add more water than that specified in the recipe; 3 tablespoons water added at various cooking stages was not enough. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup after I added the chicken. Then I allowed it to simmer as directed. Sooo good! I served it with long grain white rice, though I imagine Basmati rice would be great as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lithia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was delicious and spicy. I substituted a can of diced tomato for the sliced tomato, omitted the cardamom and ghee since I didn't have them (and cardamom's expensive), and threw in a small amount of ground cinnamon instead of cinnamon stick. You have to be careful if you do this (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was tasty, but too dry for our preference. Also, it seemed work intensive, but that is likely from the fact that essentially the cook is putting together a curry blend. I did not have rice or flat bread on hand, so heated some leftover spaghetti with garlic as the supporting starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I give it three stars because I just don't trust my midwestern palate. I made this recipe exactly as called for. It was a lot of work. In the end I was so disappointed because I really didn't care for it. My husband however, thought it was great. I tasted 'bitter' very strongly whereas my husband (who loves bitter things) did not tasted bitter and really liked it. I wish I could pinpoint what in the recipe caused my bitter backlash, then I would try modifying it. So, to summarize, I'd give this a one star, my husband would give it 5 stars, so three stars it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was time intensive, but very tasty. I was hoping for more of a curry flavor that you get with curry powder, but I still liked it. The only thing I didn't understand was the amount of water it called for, I wound up having to use at least 1/2 cup. I also added sliced carrots and served over basmati rice. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States