Chicken Cheese Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Wonderful recipe! My husband doesn't typically care for soup but loved this. I followed the recipe exactly, except added corn. However, take note when you make the flour mixture, it says to use a "medium saucepan." I used a small one and it boiled over and left a huge mess. Not fun to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I wish this would've been a little thicker, but I think it's just my lack of cooking skills when it comes to flour. The taste overall, was great! I added about a cup of frozen corn and used frozen cubed hash browns for the potatoes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I, and my family loved it! I traded a bit of the veleeta for sharp cheddar. I also didn't let the milk boil, it will curdle if you do that. I just let it get nice and thick. I also bumped up the potatoes and carrots like someone else suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I didn't have as much chicken as the recipe called for I just added what I had and it came out wonderful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorenzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was outstanding!! Thank you, Janet! I made a couple changes though. 1) used American cheese, just under a pound, 2) added cheese to the milk mixture until melted than added that to the veggie mix, 3) omitted the soy sauce and used 2-3 good splashes of white wine and 3-4 good shakes of worchestershire sauce. Oh and I shredded the carrots instead of diced. Served with warm, crusty bread and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Everyone loved this soup! I made it exactly as written. I was worried that the cheese would overpower the rest, but it was lovely. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delicious... easy to make and 2 thumbs up from all 5 of us in my family!!! Great for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
awesome soup...we love it...ate it all in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vidaliernicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a wonderful chowder to have on a cold day! It warmed the soul! I followed the recipe except I double the potatoes and cooked chorizo (1/8c) with my chicken to add a little spice. Then towards the end of warming I added a few dashes of cumin and parsley! Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This turned out great! And - to be fair - I *almost* completely stuck to the original recipe! My only alterations were to 1) add a tsp or two of garlic, 2) add a cup or so of frozen corn kernels, and 3) omit the chicken, as I was putting chicken in the accompanying salad! 4 out of 5 in my family really liked it, with the exception being my 11yr old son whose religion prohibits him from eating vegetables ;^) Even my wife, not really a soup person, enjoyed it, and my 16yr old son had four bowls! The processed cheese really makes it creamy (at the expense of your health, but...). Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States