Chicken Catch a Cola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I made this last night and it was deliciously different. The ham seemed an unusual ingredient (besides the cola of course), but the two together gave it a bacon-y flavor. Excellent! I agree that it needed to be thickened a bit, even after letting it reduce down, so I added a flour/water slurry and it was perfect. Served it over egg noodles, but over rice would probably be even better. Actually, we loved the sauce so much, I'd double it the next time. Make certain you pound the chicken like the recipe states...it makes them so much more tender. This one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This was an excellent recipe! I was a little skeptical at first, but the chicken was very tender and the sauce was delicious. It was a little hard to tell when the sauce had reduced by half, so that may be the reason that the sherry could come across a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This really turned out great! I did add some chopped onions to the chicken for an extra kick. And I think that next time I will add some corn starch to the sauce to thicken. It was wnderful served over egg noodles. Kids and Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe! He said it was the best chicken he had ever had. I thought it was really simple to make since I am not the best cook. The only thing I would suggest is to double the sauce portion of the recipe, you will want to have extra of this great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I loved it--very easy and tasty. Ingredients are pantry staples for any kitchen, so it's a convenient meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Served this on top of mashed potatoes! My husband said this is something I could make "regularly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Made it last night and was a big hit. When I read the reciepe initially it sounded very interesting. After preparing it, it exceeded my expectaions. Do give it a try...it's a keeper. Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhickey1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
My family loved this recipe! I did find I needed more than the 1 tablespoon of butter to cook the chicken breasts. My husband, who hates mushrooms, loved it anyhow, the overall flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Everything that came out of this sauce tasted delicious, I didn't cook the sauce down long enough so it was a bit thin. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was so different tasting and easy to make. I added about a TBS of olive oil in addition to the butter and sliced the ham in strips. Next time I'll use either diced or chunky diced ham that you can buy packaged in the supermarket because the strips sort of disappeared into the sauce and the ham is such a nice touch. I love mushrooms so added more from the packaged already sliced mushrooms. One other thing I did was to add the leftover bread crumb mixture (from the bag I breaded the chicken in) to the sauce when I added the ham, etc. that ultimately required that I add the rest of the can of cola as well. This was made in my long, oval electric frying pan. This recipe will definitely be in my "chicken" rotation. Had the leftovers for lunch the next day. Even more delicious on day two. Great recipe Benjamin. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States