Chicken Catch a Cola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Well, we like the chicken but the "gravy" didn't go over so well. First, it was a little watery for our taste and secondly, it had too much of a "winey" flavor. I even used a little more sour cream to thicken the sauce and reduce the wine taste but the kids passed and the adults found it edible but were not thrilled. Maybe something other than sherry? The idea sounds good but I'm not sure what I could substitute to make it worthwhile making again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Made it last night and was a big hit. When I read the reciepe initially it sounded very interesting. After preparing it, it exceeded my expectaions. Do give it a try...it's a keeper. Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhickey1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This really turned out great! I did add some chopped onions to the chicken for an extra kick. And I think that next time I will add some corn starch to the sauce to thicken. It was wnderful served over egg noodles. Kids and Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
My family loved this recipe! I did find I needed more than the 1 tablespoon of butter to cook the chicken breasts. My husband, who hates mushrooms, loved it anyhow, the overall flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe! He said it was the best chicken he had ever had. I thought it was really simple to make since I am not the best cook. The only thing I would suggest is to double the sauce portion of the recipe, you will want to have extra of this great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This was an excellent recipe! I was a little skeptical at first, but the chicken was very tender and the sauce was delicious. It was a little hard to tell when the sauce had reduced by half, so that may be the reason that the sherry could come across a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I made this last night and it was deliciously different. The ham seemed an unusual ingredient (besides the cola of course), but the two together gave it a bacon-y flavor. Excellent! I agree that it needed to be thickened a bit, even after letting it reduce down, so I added a flour/water slurry and it was perfect. Served it over egg noodles, but over rice would probably be even better. Actually, we loved the sauce so much, I'd double it the next time. Make certain you pound the chicken like the recipe states...it makes them so much more tender. This one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Lunchbag letdown! Love chicken, love ham, LOVE Coca-Cola--and yet, pumped as I was about the concept, neither of us could finish the actual dish. We found it too sweet and just...well, odd tasting. Adding onions (as suggested in another review) might have helped but I don't think I'll bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Sauce was good up to the point of adding the sour cream. I didn't like the flavor the sour cream made. Family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I loved it--very easy and tasty. Ingredients are pantry staples for any kitchen, so it's a convenient meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States