Chicken Catch a Cola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
THis dish was excellent; very unusual but even my fussy hubby liked it. A combination of flavors I would never have believed would work together but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was so different tasting and easy to make. I added about a TBS of olive oil in addition to the butter and sliced the ham in strips. Next time I'll use either diced or chunky diced ham that you can buy packaged in the supermarket because the strips sort of disappeared into the sauce and the ham is such a nice touch. I love mushrooms so added more from the packaged already sliced mushrooms. One other thing I did was to add the leftover bread crumb mixture (from the bag I breaded the chicken in) to the sauce when I added the ham, etc. that ultimately required that I add the rest of the can of cola as well. This was made in my long, oval electric frying pan. This recipe will definitely be in my "chicken" rotation. Had the leftovers for lunch the next day. Even more delicious on day two. Great recipe Benjamin. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was okay. The sauce never thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Served this on top of mashed potatoes! My husband said this is something I could make "regularly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My family didn't really care for this recipe. It is very sweet first of all. And the mushrooms take on a very strange taste. Also, the recipe says to put the chicken back into the sauce after it is finished cooking, and we found that the chicken just got way too soggy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Everything that came out of this sauce tasted delicious, I didn't cook the sauce down long enough so it was a bit thin. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I loved it--very easy and tasty. Ingredients are pantry staples for any kitchen, so it's a convenient meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Sauce was good up to the point of adding the sour cream. I didn't like the flavor the sour cream made. Family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Lunchbag letdown! Love chicken, love ham, LOVE Coca-Cola--and yet, pumped as I was about the concept, neither of us could finish the actual dish. We found it too sweet and just...well, odd tasting. Adding onions (as suggested in another review) might have helped but I don't think I'll bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I made this last night and it was deliciously different. The ham seemed an unusual ingredient (besides the cola of course), but the two together gave it a bacon-y flavor. Excellent! I agree that it needed to be thickened a bit, even after letting it reduce down, so I added a flour/water slurry and it was perfect. Served it over egg noodles, but over rice would probably be even better. Actually, we loved the sauce so much, I'd double it the next time. Make certain you pound the chicken like the recipe states...it makes them so much more tender. This one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States