Chicken Casserole Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I'm generally a little reluctant to use canned cream-of-whatever soup because of the sodium, fat, preservatives, etc., but for a recipe that's good enough I can be swayed. This one is good enough. First of all, the recipe cuts in half quite neatly, and will then fit in an 8x8 dish, which is completely reasonable for two people and provides a satisfying amount of leftovers. I used pre-cooked chicken and swapped half of the mayo for sour cream (a trick I've done before and liked in other recipes); I also used frozen green beans defrosted in the microwave, and jarred mushrooms. (Which, by the way, I won't repeat: the texture is awful. Next time I'll saute fresh shrooms instead, and will thus avoid having to pick them out of the finished product.) I used fire-roasted veggie Kashi crackers because they were what I had, but I don't think I'd do that again, either; the taste was too strong. I thought the curry was perfect. It's not really enough that the recipe could be called "curried;" if you know it's there, you can taste it, but if you don't, it just sort of enhances the chicken flavor. I think next time I might use corkscrew pasta; the rigatoni was good, but corkscrews would catch all of the sauce. And, finally, instead of parsley, I used chopped scallions on top. I served it with a salad with a strawberry vinaigrette dressing; the sweet-tart dressing cut the creaminess of the casserole nicely. All in all, a great, easy recipe that I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
For a casserole, this was fantastic! I alterred the recipe a tad, and my husband couldn't get over the combination of flavors and textures. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup & one can of cream of chicken. I added about 1/4 teaspoon more of the curry. I omitted the mushrooms & addes some corn instead. I also added a little more cheese and a little more cornflakes. Oh! And maybe most importantly, I used farfelle (bowtie) noodles instead of rigatoni. I also omitted the butter, as the oils from the cheese gave the cornflakes plenty of moisture. Overall, it was great! Thanks for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this for my husband & me....it was DELICIOUS!! Our daughter & son-in-law are visiting for a week and I plan on making it for them. The recipe makes a large amount and would be great for a dinner for a large group. I had to use a 9x13 pan.....there was no way I could fit it into a 2 qt. dish as mentioned in the recipe. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is a great "pot luck" type dish. It's easy to put together and you can make it ahead or even freeze some. I made it and decided to make it for 8 instead of 4 expecting to share with other family members. Boy, what a mistake! It was like the casserole that took over Chicago. It was huge! It could easily have fed twice that many people. I have to say, I had to make several substitutions, but I doubt it hurt the recipe (but as my sister-in-law said, you still don't really know what the recipe tastes like, do you?) Ummm, no. But it was good. The substitutions were strictly for the reason that I didn't have the right ones. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 of cream of celery, didn't have curry and decided to try creole seasonings (got try something), didn't have green beans or mixed vegetables so used package of chinese vegetables, also, had to use ziti (big deal). I didn't care, it was still good. There was enough for two huge casseroles so I gave my daughter one to put in her freezer for an upcoming pot luck. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make and everyone in my family loved it. My son does not like green beans but he didn't even pick them out when eating this casserole. The mixture of mayo, lemon juice, and curry made for a delectable flavor! I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLANCY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I love this recipe. It's quick, easy and great! I make it quite often so to mix it up a little bit I use different shaped pastas and change around the vegetables too. Try it with broccoli instead of the green beans, or fresh mushrooms instead of the canned. Everybody who has tried the Chicken Casserole Del Sol when I've made it have raved about it. This is definately a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I loved this recipe! I did make a few changes though. I used cream of mushroom soup and omitted the mushrooms. Also I used the ritz cracked peppercorn crackers. The next time I make this I may not use the cheese at all, I did'nt think it really needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHONEYBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This is a great recipe! I modified it by using fresh green beans and extending the cooking time appropriately. Also, I will often times omit the chicken and use the recipe as a vegtable side dish and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Next time I make this I will probably use less pasta (ended up with the casserole overflowing) and frozen grench-cut green beans instead of canned. My husband LOVED it. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
My husband and I loved this... reading the other reviews, we didn't think it was bland at all... the curry added an interesting flavor. We even ate the leftovers, which we hardly ever do! I thought it was easy to make and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States