Chicken Casserole Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
We had a dinner party and I made this recipe. Everyone gave it rave reviews and asked for seconds! I removed the green beans and added more mushrooms. This recipe is so easy and is a true crowd pleaser! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I tried this recipe out on my fiance and he loved it. So I made as a side dish for our recent holiday dinner. Everyone asked for the recipe. Instead of cornflakes on top, I just bake cornbread and crumble on top. We don't like mushrooms so I leave those out and it still tastes great. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make and everyone in my family loved it. My son does not like green beans but he didn't even pick them out when eating this casserole. The mixture of mayo, lemon juice, and curry made for a delectable flavor! I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLANCY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I had family that came into town and I needed to make something quick, easy and tasty for a change. I made an 8 serving casserole but it easily could have fed 12 people - it was huge! I thought the flavor mix was great. The family loved it and we had leftovers for the next few days! I followed the recipe exactly as it said and the only thing I would change in the future is to use 1/2 as much mayo - the curry really gave it that kick but wasn't spicy at all! Great casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
We really enjoyed this meal. I used chopped broccoli instead of green beans, added some diced pimentos, used more cubed chicken and a little extra cheese. We thought it was very tasty and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
My husband liked it, but he'll eat anything. I think we just don't care for the curry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I was looking for a recipe with chicken and curry to make as an easy casserole, and this was about the only one I could find. I did change the recipe a little. First off, I am a firm believer that you have to cook curry (like in a pan) for the true flavor to come out. I sprinkled the curry powder on the chicken with salt and pepper and pan fried them instead of boiling. For all those that say that this dish is too bland, there is a solution. I used wild rice instead of pasta, and only one can of cream of chicken. I was quite turned off by the mayonaise at first, but then the whole taste didn't turn out too bad. My husband loved it and we had an unexpected friend of his stop by for dinner and they ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
All my cookbooks are in storage (we're in temp housing right now) and we're getting tired of the "same old thing". I'm sure glad I found this recipe! It's been really hard to cook in temp housing because I don't have all my own kitchen stuff right now...and this used basic stuff that's included in the apartment! Thanks for putting this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I loved this recipe! I did make a few changes though. I used cream of mushroom soup and omitted the mushrooms. Also I used the ritz cracked peppercorn crackers. The next time I make this I may not use the cheese at all, I did'nt think it really needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHONEYBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is a great "pot luck" type dish. It's easy to put together and you can make it ahead or even freeze some. I made it and decided to make it for 8 instead of 4 expecting to share with other family members. Boy, what a mistake! It was like the casserole that took over Chicago. It was huge! It could easily have fed twice that many people. I have to say, I had to make several substitutions, but I doubt it hurt the recipe (but as my sister-in-law said, you still don't really know what the recipe tastes like, do you?) Ummm, no. But it was good. The substitutions were strictly for the reason that I didn't have the right ones. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 of cream of celery, didn't have curry and decided to try creole seasonings (got try something), didn't have green beans or mixed vegetables so used package of chinese vegetables, also, had to use ziti (big deal). I didn't care, it was still good. There was enough for two huge casseroles so I gave my daughter one to put in her freezer for an upcoming pot luck. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States