Chicken Casserole Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was not the best recipe ever, but was very good. I did change some things though. I used bone -in chicken breast, boiled them, and then peeled all the meat off. I used 4 different pasta's. Wheel's, different color spirals, ect... I did not add mushroom (I love them, family does not) I also did not have corn flakes, so I mixed about 2 cups of croutons with the melted butter, and then added about a half cup of dry bread crumbs. (You may need a little more butter) I spread this on top then placed in the over. It added some crunch. I would probably make this on another occasion, but not very often. Thanks! Worth trying though, and yes it makes A LOT, great for a big family, or saving some for lunch the next day (it still tasted good after sitting in the fridge)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
My family loved this recipe.Served over chinese noodles was very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Loved it! I followed the recipe, except I used frozen broccoli instead of the green beans. It was a hit with the whole family. I was concerned about the curry, but it was great. It made a ton...about three meals for our family of 2 adults and 2 small children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe was great, but I only used half a box of pasta, omitted the curry, and added mixed vegetables. It made plenty for dinner, we froze the rest, and when we did eat part I froze, it tasted as if i had made it that day. This recipe is a keeper, and my husband can't wait for me to make it again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I always try something if it's four stars and only one or two people didn't like it--and this was the only one of those types of recipies that I actually didn't like. (I almost always like them!) This tasted like...tuna noodle casserole except with chicken. I used broccolli, which I think turned out better than it would have with green beans, but that's just prefrence. I also sauteed the chicken and mushrooms first. It also made a TON...for two really good eaters we had enough left over for tomorrow, some for the freezer...and some for the garbage. (It didn't turn out wonderfully, but I don't waste food!) I won't be making this again, but it wasn't a total waste. Just kind of...so/so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very good, quick and easy! I may add more chicken and cut down on the noodles, also try broccoli in place of the green beans. Overall, everyone in the family liked it - and that in itself is an accomplishment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very delicious! Was nervous about the curry but it was a delightful surprise. I did substitute the green beans for two crowns of steamed broccoli and used fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms in place of the canned mushrooms. Added diced pimentos for color. I used thin sliced boneless chicken breasts, diced and then sauteed them in the juice from the sauteed mushrooms and added all that juice to the sauce mix. oh yeah, I used ruffled pasta in place of the rigatoni since my hubby is a "pasta snob". Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I used frozen veg, sauteed the chicken cubes before adding to the mix and completely omitted the cup of mayonaise and the butter and this turned out great. I also used rice crispies instead of cornflakes (we didn't have any) and although my husband was dubious at first, once he tried it, he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAKISES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My family found this recipe to be edible, but not great. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I thought this was a fantastic recipe! I have to admit, I'm a bit of a recipe snob--I usually only try the 41/2 or 5 star recipes, but I'm so glad I made an exception in this case. This made 2 casseroles for me, a 13x9x2 and an 8x8 and it froze beautifully. I used frozen mixed veggies and added extra mushrooms. It was creamy and delicious with a subtle curry flavor and yummy crunchy topping. Best of all, my whole family ate it (even my 2 picky ones!). That makes it 5 stars and a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States