Chicken Casserole Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Love this... I got this recipe a long time a go and make it almost once a month. I use fresh brocolli instead of green beans, and use healthy choice (low sodium) cream of chicken soup. Family and 2 year old gobble it up! Makes great left overs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have to be honest - I fully expected to dislike this dish and made it because I couldn't think of what else to make. It was actually good!! My 9 year old had 4 helpings. Even my casserole-hating husband was full of compliments. Made it just as written except with 1 can cream of chix and 1 can cream of mush soup. Will definately make again but may try experimenting with a more low cal/fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Family favorite! Many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I was quite pleasantly surprised. I looked for a casserole recipe that was quick and I was able to throw it together and bake while other things were going on. This was it! I made some subsitutions like others-I didn't have curry, so I used cajun seasoning (yum!), one can of cream of chicken, one can of cream of mushroom, and crushed butter crackers on top. It cooked up very well in the time indicated and provided great leftovers! Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Fast and easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was much better than I expected. Will put this in my recipe box. No changes except for crushed ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Substituted prebaked/packaged chicken (much easier) and broccoli instead of green beans. Very rich comfort food. Kids enjoyed - will make again but will probably try low fat mayo and cheese to lighten fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I'm generally a little reluctant to use canned cream-of-whatever soup because of the sodium, fat, preservatives, etc., but for a recipe that's good enough I can be swayed. This one is good enough. First of all, the recipe cuts in half quite neatly, and will then fit in an 8x8 dish, which is completely reasonable for two people and provides a satisfying amount of leftovers. I used pre-cooked chicken and swapped half of the mayo for sour cream (a trick I've done before and liked in other recipes); I also used frozen green beans defrosted in the microwave, and jarred mushrooms. (Which, by the way, I won't repeat: the texture is awful. Next time I'll saute fresh shrooms instead, and will thus avoid having to pick them out of the finished product.) I used fire-roasted veggie Kashi crackers because they were what I had, but I don't think I'd do that again, either; the taste was too strong. I thought the curry was perfect. It's not really enough that the recipe could be called "curried;" if you know it's there, you can taste it, but if you don't, it just sort of enhances the chicken flavor. I think next time I might use corkscrew pasta; the rigatoni was good, but corkscrews would catch all of the sauce. And, finally, instead of parsley, I used chopped scallions on top. I served it with a salad with a strawberry vinaigrette dressing; the sweet-tart dressing cut the creaminess of the casserole nicely. All in all, a great, easy recipe that I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Good casserole to make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Used elbow noodles (what I had), cut green beans (personal preference) and crackers in lieu of cornflakes (had no cornflakes on hand.) it was good - a nice comfort food and both by 3.5 and 2 year old liked it. Good, not as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States