Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Couldn't be easier. I used 6 thighs. Added some garlic powder and pepper. Cooked overnight on low for 9 hours. Made wonderful chicken soup with the chicken and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I made many batches of this wonderful broth when the recipe was posted. I filled 1/2 gallon size freezer bags with the strained broth and put them in the freezer. This fall, I have already made two WONDERFUL home-made 'chicken noodle' and 'chicken, vegtable and rice' soups in the crock pot, with this broth as my base. I can't wait to make more for the freezer and upcoming winter months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Wonderful and easy. I cooked this overnight. In the morning I strained the broth through a collander lined with a paper towel. I then deboned the chicken (what was left of the bones...it basically just fell off). I added poultry seasoning to the recipe. I am using the broth to make a chicken soup since we are under the weather. Remember when using homemade chicken broth to add salt to soup recipes as they usually call for canned broth which is usually already salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
So very easy, and so very handy. A must have in the cold months. Also, very tasty with the long, slow simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Yummy! This broth was not only very tasty, but it was pleasing to the eye as well. I strained it then used the chicken and veggies in another recipe on this site. What tender chicken! Thanks for the tip! I know we will make this over and over through the winter months. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This broth was so easy and had so much flavor. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
a wonderful idea to have a meal and make chicke broth at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Very delicious and easy to make. I used this recipe with the leftover bones from the Thanksgiving Turkey which had very little meat on them and it was still very flavorful broth. This is an excellent use for the crock pot. This will be made again and again. My husband enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I love this EASY recipe. No watching the stove, everything in the crock pot. I cooked it overnight. I used chicken thighs and because my herb garden is still thriving I added whole sprigs of parsley, tyme and basil. Then some dried chicken seasoning, salt and pepper and Dean and DeLuca's fine herbs. I remove chicken with slotted spoon and strain the broth thru a fine strainer. Then use or freeze. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I actually made this over the stove. To make a dark and richer broth, I used chicken wings and braised them in the pan first, then I added everything in and let it simmer for about 2 hrs. I also threw in cilantro and a few bay leaves. Used the stock to make chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States