Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
micki thanks for the great recipe! this is the best way to make chicken broth!!! no skimming:-) i have made it about three/four times. i played around with using different cuts of chicken and i feel chicken thighs and wings work the best. the dark meat held up to the long cooking time. i don't like dried basil, instead i used a bit of fresh thyme, one bay leaf, one tsp of black peppercorns (don't use gourmet blend - way to peppery). fyi - the last batch of broth i made, i deboned the chicken after 4 hours. i put the bones back in for the last 4 hours and the broth came out more rich and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Good recipe. I used thighs, and didn't bother skinning them. After cooking all day, I let it sit in the fridge overnight and skimmed off the large amount of fat on top. I used some in Vegetable Couscous from this site, and froze the rest in 1-cup portions to use in recipes. It has a nice deep, rich flavor and made the couscous taste wonderful. I have done this before with a chicken or turkey carcass. I added a bit of salt (not too much though, I hate how salty store-bought broths are, even the "reduced-sodium" varieties...) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I made many batches of this wonderful broth when the recipe was posted. I filled 1/2 gallon size freezer bags with the strained broth and put them in the freezer. This fall, I have already made two WONDERFUL home-made 'chicken noodle' and 'chicken, vegtable and rice' soups in the crock pot, with this broth as my base. I can't wait to make more for the freezer and upcoming winter months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! I think one should try to give the recipe an "as is" a before rating so the rating is fair, but since I make chicken broth all the time and in the crock pot I am going to violate my rule. I am dying to try basil in the broth having never tried it before. It should be wonderful and why didn't I think of it myself as it is a natural for chicken? lol! As a tip to others, I buy whole chickens when they are on sale, throw them in the freezer and whenever I need chicken meat for a recipe I cook one in the crock pot. I don't bother thawing, I just remove the outer plastic bag. Also longer cooking concentrates the broth and makes it more flavorful, so those who had problems with flavor could improve it by longer cooking. I usually start mine at night before I go to bed so it is ready to finish when I get up the next morning. I use a large glass to hold a quart freezer bag open while I ladle the broth into it. I do two sizes; a 3 cup and a 1 cup. The one cup is handy for when a recipe only needs a small amount of both. I remove the air from the bags and lay them flat on a cookie sheet. Once they are frozen hard, stand them up on end and put in a shoebox sized plastic basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Micki, thanks. I'm new to crock pot cooking. This is such a grand idea because I so much prefer home made stock to canned or ugh cubes. I left out basil, didn't peel onion. Peel gives a little darker color. I put broth in refrig., discarded fat, then put into ice cube tray, froze then placed cubes into freezer bag. Have easy home made on demand. Much easier than old way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used chicken thighs only, for deeper flavor. About halfway through, I removed the skin & meat from the bones and returned the bones to the crockpot. After it was done, I placed the broth in the fridge overnight so that the fat could rise to the top, solidify, and I could just lift it off. Worked great. Used some, then jarred up the rest and froze it. Homemade chicken stock is so flavorful, and better yet, I can control the seasonings, especially salt that is so prevalent in the store-bought stuff! Thanks so much, Micki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I have made this recipe a few times now and have followed suggestions regarding spices to add by other reviewers. The broth turned out wonderful each time though the first couple of times I only made soups with it. I liked the original version best for making other recipes with the chicken, except that I substituted dried parlsey for basil. After cooking it all day, I strained the vegetables and left the broth with the chicken in it in the refrigerator overnight. The next day, I skimmed the fat, cut up the meat and strained the broth through a sieve lined with a paper towel. Half of the broth will be used with some of the chicken in soup and I froze the other half to make the Oriental Shrimp Noodle soup, also on this site. I also made Angel's Chunky Chicken Salad and chicken burritos using Salsa Chicken Burrito filling, both recipes on this site, and both yummy. Four different meals from one recipe gives me a little variety, as I'm cooking for two. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
love the idea of making stock in a slow cooker. i never thought i'd make my own stock until i stumpled upon this recipe. this is a great fuss-free recipe. i cooked it overnight for 10 hours and i ended up with a clear rich stock. i omitted the basil and instead used thyme, parsley, bay leaves, peppercorns and a pinch of nutmeg. i added some salt at the end to taste. after i strained it i left it in the fridge to cool and scooped off the fat on top. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This is so much tastier than the chicken bouillon + water soup I've been making before! I always thought making homemade stock was too involved, but this is very simple. I used the bones from a rotisserie chicken and added a bay leaf and few peppercorns. I didn't even bother chopping up the veggies too much. I cut them in half and just tossed them in. For the soup, I discarded all the old veggies and put in new ones because the old ones were zapped of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I thought that this had too much basil. I added 2 chicken boullion cubes because i did not have chicken broth to enhance the flavor. I used baby carrots instead of regular carrots. I strained the broth and then added the carrots back to it then added some extra wide noodles to make a chicken noodle soup. I shredded some of the chicken in the soup and then the rest of the chicken(that was literally falling off the bone) I made a chicken salad with. I think next time i will only add 1/2 tbsp basil and maybe more salt and pepper. So i will make again just not as much basil and more of other seaonings. I served this soup with Grilled cheese and tomatoe sandwiches. A good dinner for a cold night. And easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States