Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed JCL's suggestions which included using a leftover chicken carcass/pan juices, adding 4 cloves of garlic and 2 bay leaves, and skipping the basil. I also added 1 t of salt and used 8 C of water. I like that this way lets you use every bit of the chicken. The carcass I had was leftover from the Roast Sticky Rotisserie Chicken recipe on this site (try it, you won't be disappointed). I threw everything in the slow cooker, cooked overnight on low, strained and refrigerated the next morning, then skimmed off the fat in the evening. Presto - delicious chicken broth that practically made itself while I was doing other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
GREAT! Oh wow, I've made chicken noodle soup and chicken and dumplings by using this as a base. Extremely easy and versatile. I know this will be a staple in my repertoire for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used a Rosemary Roasted Chicken Carcass, cooked it longer than stated, and it was flavorful & so good! It was too much basil for me, but it floated to the top & I was able to skim it out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I bake the chicken peices, then refrigerate at least a few hours. I like to use breasts or thighs. Then I wash and de-fat the bones as much as i can. Then it goes into the crock for a while in some sort of cooking bag with holes, or small metal collander, along with the bigger thing like carrot, onion and other veggie trash bits. I season as I like and just lift out the container when I'm done cooking. Much easier than chasing bones with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it was good i made it earily this morning about 4am i added havled onions, bay leafs, celery, carrots it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is by far the best recipe for chicken broth. I added celery with leaves, two fresh sage leaves, 2 bay leaves and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme along with the onion. Did not add carrots because it makes the broth too sweet. Refrigerated until the fat on top hardened and then removed. Oh my, the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Easy and tastes great in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great! Added a quartered tomato and some extra seasoning and it came out great. I used it in a African Peanut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Easy Easy Easy. I love it. I have made this a few different ways. I tried different herbs (rosemary/thyme) because my family doesn't like basil much. I also found this is a great way to extract every ounce of flavor from a chicken or turkey carcass. This also works well with beef bones. YUM! I take the bones and whatever left over meat there is and roast it. Then, I toss it all in the crock pot with the veggies and seasoning and walk away. The flavor and richness of the stock is much better than a canned or boxed version and less salt! I freeze the rest after I skim the fat. It is such a time saver to pull bags of stock from the freezer to add that "home cooked" deep flavor to a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I make it slightly different: 1) Use leftover carcass, skin and wings from rotisserie chicken (I prefer lemon pepper chicken or even BBQ chicken for this recipe) 2) In addition to 2 celery sticks, 2 carrots and 1 medium yellow onion (quartered), I add 3-4 whole cloves of garlic, 2 bay leaf, and about 1 tbs of Montreal Chicken seasoning. Skip the basil. 3) I cook it on low overnight, skim all the solids in the morning and leave the stock in the fridge for the day. Skim the remaining fat from the top and it's ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States