Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My broth came out more around a 3 star, but I have a feeling that was because I added too much liquid. However, with a bit of bouillon this is definitely 4 star. I think it could be 5 star if left to cook even longer. I used a whole fryer chicken (raw), an onion, 2 carrots (I would omit these next time- the broth came out a bit sweet), 3 celery stalks, 1/2 tspn of basil, a pinch of dried thyme, and salt/pepper. I used about 6 cups of water and 2 cups of store bought chicken broth that I had in the fridge (this brought the liquid line to about 3/4 up the chicken). After 8 hours of cooking though I had to give in and add 1 tspn of bullion (granted, this is not a ton, equivalent of 1 cup of bought broth). I'm not sure if the problem was with the chicken or liquid amounts, but with just that one tspn of bullion the broth is extremely flavorful and rich. We're making chicken and dumplings out of it in about an hour and looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
very good chicken stock with not much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed JCL's suggestions which included using a leftover chicken carcass/pan juices, adding 4 cloves of garlic and 2 bay leaves, and skipping the basil. I also added 1 t of salt and used 8 C of water. I like that this way lets you use every bit of the chicken. The carcass I had was leftover from the Roast Sticky Rotisserie Chicken recipe on this site (try it, you won't be disappointed). I threw everything in the slow cooker, cooked overnight on low, strained and refrigerated the next morning, then skimmed off the fat in the evening. Presto - delicious chicken broth that practically made itself while I was doing other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
GREAT! Oh wow, I've made chicken noodle soup and chicken and dumplings by using this as a base. Extremely easy and versatile. I know this will be a staple in my repertoire for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used a Rosemary Roasted Chicken Carcass, cooked it longer than stated, and it was flavorful & so good! It was too much basil for me, but it floated to the top & I was able to skim it out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I bake the chicken peices, then refrigerate at least a few hours. I like to use breasts or thighs. Then I wash and de-fat the bones as much as i can. Then it goes into the crock for a while in some sort of cooking bag with holes, or small metal collander, along with the bigger thing like carrot, onion and other veggie trash bits. I season as I like and just lift out the container when I'm done cooking. Much easier than chasing bones with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it was good i made it earily this morning about 4am i added havled onions, bay leafs, celery, carrots it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is by far the best recipe for chicken broth. I added celery with leaves, two fresh sage leaves, 2 bay leaves and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme along with the onion. Did not add carrots because it makes the broth too sweet. Refrigerated until the fat on top hardened and then removed. Oh my, the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Easy and tastes great in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great! Added a quartered tomato and some extra seasoning and it came out great. I used it in a African Peanut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States