Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I love this recipe, especially since I always made this on the cook top and had to be home until it was done. I also like the idea that I do not have to skim it. The only thing I did eliminate was the basil. I tend to associate basil with everything else, but soup. Thanks for the easy, unattended soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've made chicken stock (and turkey) this way for maybe 30 years following the recipe in Joy of Cooking. I start with the carcass from a roasting chicken and add carrots, celery and onion. For spices I use bay leaves and whole all spice, clove and peppercorns and only a little salt. Save all the skin and bones as well as the drippings. Be sure to skim the fat off before using. Freeze in different size containers so you always have the right amount on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great recipe. I added a tablespoon of garlic and some pepper. Also, I cooked it over night and finished it in the morning. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! I think one should try to give the recipe an "as is" a before rating so the rating is fair, but since I make chicken broth all the time and in the crock pot I am going to violate my rule. I am dying to try basil in the broth having never tried it before. It should be wonderful and why didn't I think of it myself as it is a natural for chicken? lol! As a tip to others, I buy whole chickens when they are on sale, throw them in the freezer and whenever I need chicken meat for a recipe I cook one in the crock pot. I don't bother thawing, I just remove the outer plastic bag. Also longer cooking concentrates the broth and makes it more flavorful, so those who had problems with flavor could improve it by longer cooking. I usually start mine at night before I go to bed so it is ready to finish when I get up the next morning. I use a large glass to hold a quart freezer bag open while I ladle the broth into it. I do two sizes; a 3 cup and a 1 cup. The one cup is handy for when a recipe only needs a small amount of both. I remove the air from the bags and lay them flat on a cookie sheet. Once they are frozen hard, stand them up on end and put in a shoebox sized plastic basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Easy way to make salt-free broth! I add a squeeze of lemon a bay leaf and celery seed. I also made it using turkey necks, which I got for 25 cents a pound. I left it cooking overnight, then broke apart the necks with a spoon and left it to cook all day. By evening, all the collagen in the necks had dissolved and the meat had fallen off the bones. Since all the flavor had been extracted from the meat, I fed it to the dog, saving the rich turkey stock for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had a leftover carcass from Slow Cooker Turkey Breast on this site, and not wanting to waste, I decided to make turkey broth. My only change (other than halving the recipe) was to replace the basil with parsley. The meat that was left on the carcass just fell off the bone. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wow! What a great way to make stock (who wouda thunk??!!?)!!! I roasted a chicken last weekend and had a little meat (mostly dark), the carcass and bones leftover. Not wanting to waste any of it, I searched for a recipe to make homemade stock. Since my chicken was 3.75 lb., I used 1.5 x's the equivalents of liquid/veggies/spices called for. As others suggested, I too added my own touches. Instead of basil, I used dried parsley. I also added 1.5 t whole peppercorns and a large bay leaf. Oh, and I cut my veggies into chunks rather than chopping them (much easier to do and takes less time!). I set my slow cooker to cook on low for 9 hours at 6 PM on Sunday evening. My warm setting kicked in around 3 AM (my sc will stay on the warm setting for 4 hours). I am always up by 6 and out the door by 7, so I had an hour to unplug the unit, allow it to cool (so I could handle the chicken without burning myself!), shred the meat / remove the veggies and place my crock insert in the fridge (NEVER put a hot insert in your fridge - it will warm the internal temperature to an unsafe range). When I got home from work, all I had to do was use a spoon to remove the solidified fat and then strain my broth through a fine mesh sieve (you'll need to do this in order to remove large particles). Last night I made homemade chicken rice soup (yum, yum!)! Thanks so much for sharing, Micki. :-) I can't wait to try your recipe using beef and turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
followed as state excellent will not buy canned broth again!!! So easy if you can handle the smell while its cooking over night!!! Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! And a sure way to get NO SODIUM ADDED broth. Flavor was excellent (I've tried combinations of parsley, basil, tarragon & poultry seasoning). And you certainly can't beat the minimal effort required! I also used a rotisserie carcass as suggested in another review w/ excellent results. Thanks for sharing & thanks for the suggestions in the reviews! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an easy way to make stock. Wish I had a bigger cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States