Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
So easy and so much better than canned. Left out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've used this recipe several times, but sometimes I do it on the stovetop. Makes great homemade broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was great. I used a chicken carcass from my Costco rotisserie and did half broth half water for more flavor. Super easy and made for a richer tasting chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
GREAT! I actually came home with a package of turkey legs so that I could do this for a pot of enchilada soup. Super easy, all I did was just throw everything in the slow cooker at quarter to ten last night and wa-la, it was done the next morning. I had my homemade broth AND meat for my soup. Best recipe EVER. NOTE: I would suggest you add chopped fresh garlic and some salt/pepper and maybe a bay leaf or two if you want more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this a few times and it is an easy way to make healthy chicken broth. After doing a little bit of research, I have done a couple things differently. First, let you chicken carcass (I fix a roasted chicken an then we eat it and I just use the bones) sit in 6 COLD cups of water with 1-2 tablespoons of vinegar, this helps draw the nutrients and minerals out of the bones. Also, I don't bother to do much chopping of the vegetables since they will be strained out. I cook on low for 12-24 hours. Then I put in the fridge to cool and then I divide into bags to freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Turned out good. I didn't have basil so I used thyme as suggested by some reviewers and a bay leaf. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this a while back with a chicken carcass, and it was quick and easy, but my husband just recently used the frozen chicken stock to make a vegetable soup. It turned out really great - no surprises what is in this, just delicious, good for you ingredients. Highly recommended way to make stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Easy and makes the house smell wonderful!! Sometimes add some extra herbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I love this recipe, especially since I always made this on the cook top and had to be home until it was done. I also like the idea that I do not have to skim it. The only thing I did eliminate was the basil. I tend to associate basil with everything else, but soup. Thanks for the easy, unattended soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've made chicken stock (and turkey) this way for maybe 30 years following the recipe in Joy of Cooking. I start with the carcass from a roasting chicken and add carrots, celery and onion. For spices I use bay leaves and whole all spice, clove and peppercorns and only a little salt. Save all the skin and bones as well as the drippings. Be sure to skim the fat off before using. Freeze in different size containers so you always have the right amount on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States