Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was my first time making broth I had been saving chicken tips for a while and I even used the bones and neck etc from 2 turkeys. Its awesome. after I deboned what little meat I had to save for chicken/turkey pot pie. I put in the fridge to scoop the fat off then poured into ice cube trays for when I am reheating something and it needs some moisture or to put a couple of cubes in when I cook vegetables for sides. glad I saved all those wing tips. And you can season this anyway you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very good and so easy! The only changes I made were to use 2 leftover chicken carcasses instead of the uncooked chicken and to add bay leaf and some peppercorns to the stock (per another suggestion). After slow cooking over night, the stock was rich and tasty and so EASY! Can't wait for soup night to try it out as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Try roasting the chicken and veggies first and tossing everything from the roasting pan into the crock pot. Also, don't be afraid of bay leaves. Toss in 4 or 5. A turnip also helps the flavor. If you roast a chicken, save the uneaten parts for soup, or if you butcher a whole chicken instead of buying parts, freeze the backs and wings until you have enough for a batch of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Woo hoo! So easy and so delicious! Used the leftovers from 2 rotisserie chickens, and followed the recipe from there. Left in my slow cooker over night and woke up to yummy homemade chicken broth. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very nice. I used the carcass of a chicken I had roasted and added a bay leaf. I cooked it all night and strained it in the morning. This couldn’t be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Nothing could be easier or tastier than this recipe. I used the carcass of a purchased rotisserie chicken and cooked it overnight (10 hours). It was the tastiest broth ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
soooooooooooo good. i just threw a whole chicken in there for 8 hrs then made chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have never made my own chicken broth! It was so good. Used it in another recipe on this site for chicken noodle soup. My husband can't have any chicken unless it is completely hormone and antibioty free (allergies) - we use Gerber's. He said this is the first time he had chicken soup in like 27 years! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
So easy and gives you both the chicken broth and cooked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States