Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is my first time making chicken broth and my second time using my slow cooker. I bought a "soup" veggie pack from the store that had turnips, parsnips, leeks, carrots, onion, celery, dill and parsley all in the package chopped it up and threw it all in with a thigh, wing and drumstick pack it smells and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Setauket, New York, USA
Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I really like this method for making broth. It was very flavorful and YOU get to control how much salt is in it. I bought a 5 pound chicken, cut up, and divided it between two slow cookers to make a double batch. I used half to make soup and froze the other half. I froze the chicken meat to use later in a soup or casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used chicken thighs only, for deeper flavor. About halfway through, I removed the skin & meat from the bones and returned the bones to the crockpot. After it was done, I placed the broth in the fridge overnight so that the fat could rise to the top, solidify, and I could just lift it off. Worked great. Used some, then jarred up the rest and froze it. Homemade chicken stock is so flavorful, and better yet, I can control the seasonings, especially salt that is so prevalent in the store-bought stuff! Thanks so much, Micki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is the first time I have been compelled to write a review but this time I had to share my thoughts. I have tried many times to make chicken broth the old fashioned way in a stockpot on the stove. Always with dissapointing results - not enough flavor, had to add bouillon (which is exactly what I wanted to avoid). I put all of my ingredients in the crock pot in the evening, let it simmer on low all night. Removed the meat and threw the bones back in and let it simmer until noon. MY OH MY!! It looks, smells and tastes out of this world! My only regret now is that I don't have a bigger crockpot so I can make this stuff by the gallon. Update - after writing this review I started thinking and thought - why not use my roaster?? Works great and I can make a LOT at once. (means less clean up). You just have to adjust the temp to keep a slow simmer. Also, I have tried straining with a colander lined with cheesecloth, clarifying with egg shell and white, but I think the best method is to line a colander with a tea towel. Because it strains very well, you may have to stop and rinse out the towel during the process but it does a beautiful job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I saw a great tip on Sara's Secrets. When making chicken wings, save the wing tips in a baggie. When you go to make stock use them as well. All that bone adds gelatin to the stock and makes it full and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I havn't tried this recipe yet but it looks good. my tips on a chicken broth is use as much bone as you can. the geletin from the bone will give it a richer flavor and a better thicher body. also the best way ive found to store chicken broth or any broth is to fill ice cube trays with the broth, freeze it, then put cubes in a freezer bag. that way when you get it back out you can use as many as you need such as 10 for a personal chicken noodle soup. hope that was helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Good and super easy! I make a fabulous chicken noodle soup, so I personalized this broth with spices I like in the soup: a little ginger, celery salt, bay leaves, and lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I've never made my own chicken broth before, but after looking at what goes into a bullion cube or canned broth I decided to give it a try. I was quite pleased. I did make some changes. I used a left-over roasted chicken carcass and switched the 1 tbs of basil to 1 heaping tbs of parsley and did 7 instead of 6 cups of water. Cooked it on Low overnight for about 10 hours and disposed of all the vegetables and the carcass. It came out richly colored and tasted pretty good. And it smelled WONDERFUL cooking. I'm waiting for it to cool a bit then I plan to divy it up into 1 3/4 servings and freeze in freezer bags. No more bullion for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used onion, carrot and celery (with the celery leaves still on) plus parsley (NOT basil). Also used a whole 3.5 pound chicken. The stock made a delicious soup. Wouldn't change anything with the exception of the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States