Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I freeze chicken the carcass after a roast chicken dinner. When I need chicken stock I just take it out of the freezer and make it in the same way at this recipe. Wonderful stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Preety good recipe.....i just hate to waste the whole chicken pieces. I use a leftover Rottissere chicken carcass. We have already used the breasts for salad, and the drumsticks and thighs for dinner. We also vary from the original recipe by adding in 1 or 2 parsnips......for the sweetness that they add to the broth. My wife and i also use poultry seasoning instead of the basil .....gives it more flavor..... Be careful about what type of Rottissere chicken that you use...some are barbecued or have garlic or lemon flavorings.....these flavor will show up in the shock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Love things in crock pot! Tho I did add garlic, rosemary and a little poultry seasoning , oh yes salt too. It makes for a stronger flavored stock . I like to use any parts that I can get my hands on from the chicken No gizzards chill strain out all veggies bring back to simmer on stove make tiny chicken meat balls cook in stock add some spinach and pasta and "viola" a different take on Italian Wedding soup. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
When I add spices to any broth like recipe I put the spices is a large loose tea strainer, that way you can pull it out without a mess. I also use this when I cook corn beef, no spices mixed in the corn beef just all the flavor. I also use a chinois strainer to strain the broth because it is so very fine and really helps to take all the fine particles out. Sorta like having a reusable cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I tried this recipe and LOVE it. It didn't taste much like the store-bought stock, but everyone likes it so much more. The chicken thighs I put in were almost all gristle and fat, but when I strained out the veggies/chicken, all the bad parts had melted off and left delicious soft chicken behind. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Okay, so this recipe is so totally easy. I've never made broth before, although I'm a pretty adventurous and experienced cook, but I'm also rather a lazy cook, and I love to walk away, which is why I love the slow cooker. I stumbled upon this recipe while trying to figure out what chicken soup to make with a rotisserie chicken carcass. Didn't find a soup I liked, so I made one up, but I decided to use this broth as a base. So easy and it made for a wonderful chicken soup base. I did add some bullion to the broth because I was making chicken soup, and subbed parsley for the basil, but otherwise just left it alone. I cooked on 4 hours on high, removed several of the veggies and 4 cups of stock for the chicken soup I was making, then added back in 6 cups of water and simmered on low for another 6 hours or so. I ended up with about 5 1/2 cups of broth to freeze, which I separated into containers with 2 cups and 1 1/2 cups of broth respectively. I used a paper towel in a colander to separate out the broth from the chicken and vegetables, then picked through the chicken, removed the bones, removed the onions, and gave to the dog as a snack once it was cool. I'll so totally make this broth again. It was so easy, and very flavorful. And, although there was some fat on top when all was said and done, it was very little and I won't skim it next time since it was barely worth it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
far prefer my stove top recipes but this does come in handy in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So good! So easy! Never throwing away a chicken carcass again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Liquid Gold! This is my favorite, super easy way to make chicken broth. I put a chicken carcass in the crockpot at night, sleep, and when I get up the broth is finished. Can't get any easier! I froze in 2 cup amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
delicious! I used breast because that is what I had on hand. I put the vegetables in a blender with some of the broth...very good. The chicken can be used in just about any other dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States