Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why, since all the right ingredients seemed to be here, but this was really kind of boring. I would have thought the oyster sauce, soy sauce and garlic all would have contributed great flavor but it all just sort of got lost. Perhaps some sherry, toasted sesame oil and chicken broth would have helped. I did back off the pepper, which seemed excessive, because as the saying goes, you can always add more but you can't take it away. I also steered away from the cooking method as directed. Since some of the ingredients require different cooking times I cooked them separately, then combined it all at the end. I added mushrooms and served this over rice noodles, which was a nice combo, but unfortunately tonight's dinner was rather forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This dish was simple and delicious! I added mushrooms which I put in with the onions and garlic. I also added the broccoli a step before the directions wanted. Next time I will only cook the onions for a couple minutes before moving on -- I thought they were far too done in the end. Again, DELICIOUS! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was really good, and the sauce was great. I would have preferred more broccoli and greens, but otherwise, the taste was great and I'd definitely make it again. The only problem was that it didn't taste as good after reheating it the next day in the microwave, but it's still healthier than take-out and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Easy recipe and it was a very tast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
waaaaaaaaaay too much pepper, I will greatly decrease that next time or loes it altogether. I used a bag of fresh stir fry veggies (already clean & cut) in leu of all veggies in the recipe Was out of cornstarch so I omitted that part. This recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is excellent! It has become a favorite in our house. I did make changes to the recipe, but only after making the original first! 1) I leave out the bok choy just because it is harder to find in my area, so I double up on the broccoli. 2) I cut the pepper in half. Even at half there is plenty of pepper to go around. Add more on your plate if you need it. 3) I prefer a little more sauce, so I use: 2 Tbl oyster sauce, 4 Tbl soy, 1 c water, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 2 tsp sugar. The cornstarch step is 2 Tbl cornstarch with 2 Tbl water. I think this is mostly doubling the sauce with exception to the pepper. 4) I use 2 Tbl vegetable oil instead of 3. I think 2 isn't skimping in the slightest on taste and saves calories. ***Thanks for the great recipe as it had to be great from the start to get to this final recipe for us!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
A new staple in my stir-fry-crazy house. Quick, easy, and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I followed the directions exactly, aside from adding the broccoli and bok choy at different times (so they wouldn't get mushy). I'm glad I tasted it before serving because it was very boring and had nowhere near the flavor I was hoping for. I ended up adding more soy sauce and some Thai spicy jelly sauce I had on hand to make it more interesting. It's a good base for a stir fry, but not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A nice surprise...really tasted quite authentic for such a jiffy prep time. Easy to tweak and add new things. Thanks! Used someone else's idea of just soy sauce because I had no oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight. My family loved it! The only changes I made were adding an extra tablespoon of oyster sauce and soy sauce to the marinade. The sauce was so good and could work with a variety of vegetables and proteins. I might even make this with tofu one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States