Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Thank God for this recipe. I am in law school, loan money has dried up, exams are closing in on me, and I had neither the time nor the money to get the takeout I craved tonight. I made this with things I already had in the freezer/pantry. I omitted the bok choy because I didn't have it, and I used onion powder because I'm out of onions. I did everything else the same, and it was really delicious. Quick, easy, tasted just like it came from a restaurant. And I'm no poorer for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was the easiest and best recipe for Chicken and Broccoli I have ever had. I, too, found the bok choy unnecessary, but added mushrooms. I doubled the sauce, but added 2 T. of hoisin sauce, 2T. of rice wine vinegar, and 1T of orange juice concentrate (just b/c I was making OJ for the kids). Adding these few things took the fishy taste, mentioned by some viewers, away. It was just what I was hungry for and even better the next day. May try it with steak next time, just to see. Definitely a keeper and my all time "go-to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
nothing like the take out > has a very fish taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I added a pinch of crushed red pepper at the beginning to give it a little kick. Why go to the restaurant? Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great recipe! I did not have oyster sauce, so I doubled the soy sauce. Also, I added 1 T. sherry to the marinade. Instead of water I used chicken broth and I omitted the bok choy. I had a microwave steamer bag of broccoli - so I added the fully cooked broccoli at the very end (so it didn't get mushy). Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Tasted like boiled chicken and broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Doubled this recipe using the suggestions....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this, but I've turned it into a stir fry. I added red and green peppers, waterchestnuts, zuccini, squash, and mushrooms. Also with the cornstarch mix, i add a teaspoon of spicy chili sauce, little more oyster sauce, sesame oil and sesame seeds. This is a great touch for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
tried it veggie and was good. added broc before the bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I found this was really tasty and not at all boring. I left out the bok choy because I couldn't find any and added some extra broccoli to make up for it. Instead of adding cornstarch at the end to thicken it, I added some leftover rice I had and let that absorb the extra liquid. Threw some chopped peanuts on for garnish and it turned out to be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States