Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is such an excellent base for chinese stir fries. After making this recipe for a while, which is absolutely delicious as is, I was able to just make great authentic-tasting chinese dishes freehand. No recipe necessary! It is great. One thing that I recommend is to thinly slice the chicken, WITH the grain, not against. This makes the chicken soooo much more tender! You wouldn't believe what a difference it makes. It is how most chinese restaurants slice their chicken. Also, always make sure your wok is VERY hot!!! So important... Excellent recipe! 5+ Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Delicious! Definitely use the oyster sauce and low sodium soy sauce, skip the pepper, and add extra vegies at the end, so as not to overcook. I happened to have/used: yellow pepper, green onion, and tofu, which I added with the rest of called for ingredients. Oh...and increase the amount of sauce--it makes this recipe. Way easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Meh. I followed the recipe exactly but marinated the chicken overnight. It wasn't flavorful at all. Kind of a disappointment. Maybe put ginger and garlic in the marinade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Really good & easy recipe. I doubled all the marinade/sauce ingredients because we like the sauce. I didn't have any onions so I added some onion powder in with the garlic while it sauteed. I didn't have any bok choy and I steamed the broccoli in the microwave before adding it into the mixture. I was glad i did...once the cornstarch was added, the sauce thickened right away. We really enjoyed the flavors and it does have some spice to it with the black pepper. Thanks for a greay recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The ingredients in this recipe are spectacular together. The cook times suggested are not. Substitute 5-7 minutes for each recipe segment that recommends 10. A couple other helpful hints: My sauce was completely reduced by the time I added cornstarch, so I added back about 3/4 c. water (this will vary depending on cook times). I also added a generous splash of soy sauce and oyster sauce here to bring out these flavors. Finally, do not add the bok choy until the last minutes of cooking so the leaves maintain some crispness instead of resembling soggy spinach. The flavor of this recipe couldn't get any better. Oh, and beware that a whole teaspoon of pepper makes this dish pretty spicy. Use a half teaspoon if you want to avoid that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Really good with healthy ingredients! I didn't have oyster sauce so I used extra soy. Turned out great because the sugar added to the dish adds enough sweetness. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good recipe!! Restaurant quality! Just next time I will double the liquid; I like more sauce :) I also didn't use the amount of pepper as stated. I used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good. Made a few substitutions, quite a flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good, but needed a few modifications. I made it as stated and then made some changes before serving. Definately double the soy sauce marinade. I couldn't find oyster sauce in the store, so I used hoisin sauce. I searched all over and no one around here sells oyster sauce, even the 2 asian markets. Online it says you can sub. soy sauce for oyster sauce. I added some ginger, red pepper flakes, and garlic chili sauce to the sauce. Maybe some fresh ginger next time. Oh, double the water if you double those first two ingredients, but don't double the sugar or it is too sweet (as my husband said). I just made it with chicken, onion and broccoli. Would make again, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
excellent. added soba noodles to the pot in the last 2 minutes of cooking (made extra sauce) and they were perfect. also added some shredded carrot for a bit more nutrition! highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States