Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Green Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My family did not enjoy this recipe. I cooked this dish exactly as written. My 13 year old son and 18 year old daughter, both thought it bland. I was confused by this until I realized that neither one likes gravy and had taken very little sauce. The seasoning is in the sauce rather than the chicken. My other 18 year old daughter seemed to like it the best of all of us and she only gave it three stars. My husband truly disliked the flavor of chipotle chili powder in this recipe. And I felt that the chipotle in the chicken broth based sauce just didn't work - it seemed discordant. I have another recipe that used chipotle in a spice rub with garlic, onion and brown sugar. The other spices and sugar seemed to temper the the chipotle and everyone in my family enjoyed that recipe. So, sorry, I just can't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Just tried this recipe tonight and we really did love it. The only change I made was to sprinkle some of the chipotle powder onto the breasts before I browned them - we like a little more spice. (Thanks to the reviewer that mentioned that.) The gravy was delicious. The breast was tender and most of important….moist. This one definitely went in my recipe box. Thanks, Chef John. And while I'm at it, thanks to those of you that write reviews - they are full of helpful and good hints to make a good recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was amazing! I cooked 3 chicken breasts and doubled the gravy to serve over rice. My daughter, who usually doesn't care for rice, had a second helping just so she could have more gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Hampe
Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
So good! I didn't have chipotle powder and didn't feel like running to the store in the snowstorm, so I used 1/4 t smoked paprika with a pinch of cayenne and a pinch of chili powder. The hubby, mister I-don't-like-chicken even liked it! That's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe was great! I don't understand how some say it didn't have much flavor. You control that and he tells you that. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love Chef John's recipes. I love the cooking tips and cooking info. I add sweet onions and brown then I add the flour and brown and follow the rest of the recipe. This makes a nice southern brown gravy or I use the recipe as is if I want a lighter gravy. Chef John is indeed a PRO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious! Will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the sauce. Liked this, can't say it was bland because the pepper makes it spicy, but I bet it could have a more interesting taste to it with something sweet in it like pineapple chunks, as in a sweet and sour sauce. Next time will try it that way! Served this over couscous. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made more gravy due to the love of it over mashed potato's and a salad. I think it need a little more kick, will experiment, but it is a great base, thank-you chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious. Like a previous rater, I had to improvise on the chipoltle seasoning. Since I had smoked paprika I used that mixed with chilli powder and cayenne. Very easy, very tasty. Will definitely make this again. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States