Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Green Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Just tried this recipe tonight and we really did love it. The only change I made was to sprinkle some of the chipotle powder onto the breasts before I browned them - we like a little more spice. (Thanks to the reviewer that mentioned that.) The gravy was delicious. The breast was tender and most of important….moist. This one definitely went in my recipe box. Thanks, Chef John. And while I'm at it, thanks to those of you that write reviews - they are full of helpful and good hints to make a good recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was amazing! I cooked 3 chicken breasts and doubled the gravy to serve over rice. My daughter, who usually doesn't care for rice, had a second helping just so she could have more gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Hampe
Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
So good! I didn't have chipotle powder and didn't feel like running to the store in the snowstorm, so I used 1/4 t smoked paprika with a pinch of cayenne and a pinch of chili powder. The hubby, mister I-don't-like-chicken even liked it! That's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe was great! I don't understand how some say it didn't have much flavor. You control that and he tells you that. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love Chef John's recipes. I love the cooking tips and cooking info. I add sweet onions and brown then I add the flour and brown and follow the rest of the recipe. This makes a nice southern brown gravy or I use the recipe as is if I want a lighter gravy. Chef John is indeed a PRO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious! Will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the sauce. Liked this, can't say it was bland because the pepper makes it spicy, but I bet it could have a more interesting taste to it with something sweet in it like pineapple chunks, as in a sweet and sour sauce. Next time will try it that way! Served this over couscous. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made more gravy due to the love of it over mashed potato's and a salad. I think it need a little more kick, will experiment, but it is a great base, thank-you chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious. Like a previous rater, I had to improvise on the chipoltle seasoning. Since I had smoked paprika I used that mixed with chilli powder and cayenne. Very easy, very tasty. Will definitely make this again. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
EXCELLENT recipe! Easy and the end result is wonderful! Very popular with our guests and served over buttered linguini, fantastic. *Remember, chipotle chile powder can be quite spicy if you are not used to it. I use McCormick Smoked Chipotle chile powder for a smoky kind of rustic taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States