Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Green Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Super easy and flavorful considering the minimal ingredients. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I thought my husband was going to pick up his plate and lick off the gravy....which is funny but to me it meant it was phenomenal because he doesn't normally do gravies/dipping sauces. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I loved the gravy, but the chicken was meh. So 5 stars for the gravy and 3 for the chicken, landing it a solid 4 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Essy, quick, and very tasty - I added salt as the recipe says, and didn't have reduced sodium broth. Not being a salt user at all, it was very salty for me. My extremely picky daughter LOVED it. I will definitely make this again and again - without adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
All I can say is WOW! We prefer dark meat so I actually used legs and thighs. With bones and skin on, it make more greese after frying so I used more flour and chicken broth. I also probably used at least a tablespoon of the Chipolte Chile Pepper. What an incredible taste. My husband said he loved it. I have never tasted anything that chef John has done and been dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I dip my chicken in a flour mixture before pan frying and cut the chipotle chili pepper down a little. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
So delicious! As other reviewers have stated, it is a great entry level dish and is a wonderful change from usual chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This has a permanent place in my meal planner. I've made this recipe many times and always turns out great. I've even done it with steak or porkchops. It changes the gravy to suit the meal. Have fun and try different meats and broths. Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was another of Chef John's greatest!!! It is even company worthy!!! The hub's kept going back for more and never talked during dinner until the very end and said...."this was great, nice job, dear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
As Chef John Says in the attendant video, " You're in charge of your gravy!" This video (and this recipe) is a cooking lesson on how to make a simple pan gravy, a techniuqe that you can use with any good protein for a delicious, quick sauce to add a finished quality to your dish. And it's simple! Saute the protein (gives you fond) add butter (or other fat) 'till it sings' then flour that browns and thickens and then a liquid (depending could be chicken or beef stock, white or red wine) and, if you wish, additional seasonings (in this case dried Chipotle chili and chopped green onion). There is your 'formula' for a pan sauce to go with any protein. Saute for fond, add a fat/oil, flour till it browns to the color you want and add your liquid and finally other spices if you wish. For a fuller, deeper flavor you can add the seasonings to the meat before you saute. One thing he didn't mention is 'tasting' as you cook, especially on a new recipe you haven't made before. As I am pretty sensitive to heat I would start with a quarter of a teaspoon of Chipotle Chili Powder, give it a minute or two to ''bloom' then taste. Need a little more? add another quarter. As many recipes state, "Salt and Pepper to taste". Same goes for other spices. So taste as you cook. Products vary; in age and quality as well our individual tastes. The quantities are suggestions on where to start, but cooking isn't Organic Chemistry, it's cooking. I love all you folks who play with your food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States