Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Love this recipe my mom and I make this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
quick and easy on a summer evening with little motivation to cook! I started this dish thinking I had mushrooms, but alas, I didn't. So I used yellow, orange and red peppers instead, and it turned out very nicely! I used 1 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. Served with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Reduce balsamic by half or add total of 2c of chicken broth Do not increased bay leaf reduce thyme just under 1/4 tsp Add half and half and sourcream if too tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
One of my favorite recipes that I have found on this site. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My parents loved it. They wished there was more sauce on the chicken though, so the next time I make this, I'll be adding more mushroom and balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was very good but next time I would cut the chicken in stir fry pieces, add chopped red/green peppers and onions as for stir fry and add to mushrooms then to sauce as per recipe. Serve over linguine or angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this as suggested excepting the flour which I just plain forgot. I suspect it's prescence is there to thicken the sauce so add it later, or cornstarch, whatever, or not, if you like a thin sauce. I kept my breasts whole, in future I would suggest cutting them in strips or pounding them flat. The flavour of the sauce is good but needs to be carried further into the chicken. This is a pretty simple dish and you could and probably should expand this a little to include some more complexity, a reduced red wine, some shallots, white pepper and sliced red peppers. For the record I've long since discovered the error of cooking with cheap Balsamic vinegar. Do not make any recipe requiring Balsamic vinegar with cheap stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
btwn 4-5 stars. I didn't flour the chicken, used tenders and added a touch of flour at the end of reducing the broth. Very simple and savory recipe. Served with the strawberry feta salad and parsleyed new potatoes. Company worth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this dish last night. Following others' recommendations I too omitted the flour but added Paprika to the seasoning mix of salt and pepper. The Bay leaf was omitted also since I had run out of them. I used Canola Oil to get a higher temperature thereby quickening the browning process of the breasts. The one thing that I would do differently with this recipe would be to use 1/8 cup of Balsamic Vinegar rather than 1/4. I felt the vinegar proved a little too bitter so I had to add a sprinkling of brown sugar and some honey to get it back to my taste level. The "Cucino Balsamic Vinegar of Modena" used had an acidity level of 6% . I also used a full cup of chicken broth as opposed to 3/4. 6 garlic cloves could be overkill depending upon your love of garlic. Instead I used 2 'jumbo' cloves finely sliced. To make the dish more visually appealing I added 1/2 chopped Red Bell pepper to the sauce as well as sliced Portobello mushrooms and the regular white mushrooms. After adding butter to the sauce I opted for a smoother quality with the addition of 1 - 2 teaspoons of cornflour mixed with a little water. This VASTLY improved the sauce consistency. Using an electric knife I sliced each breast into 1/4 inch slices and served with a medley of steamed vegetables and boiled 'baby' potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States