Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this, but my husband said 3 or 4 stars. I followed the recipe, except I used chicken tenders. I tasted the sauce with every bite. I had to add a bit of water to the sauce at the end because there wasn't a lot of it. It turned out great. My young kids gave it 3 stars, which is high for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I followed the recipe except for not adding the flour (added cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce) and adding more garlic as per other reviews. I found the sauce was a bit too vinegary for our taste. I had to add cream to tone down the vinegary flavour. My husband was not a big fan...but then again, he's not partial to sour flavours. To each their own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was a great recipe! I didn't have any balsamic vinegar, so I used balsamic vinaigrette instead and it still tasted awesome! I didn't use any four on the chicken either. I just added a little corn starch as another reviewer suggested to thicken up the sauce and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This dish was delish! Super easy and simple to make. I had all the ingredients on hand but the mushrooms. So I made it with out and it was still great! I used my cast iron braiser and it cooked perfect. I love vinegar so I make it with a 1/2 cup and a whole can of broth. I also added a tablespoon of honey to help with the tang. Served with roasted rosemary potatoes and broccoli, it was the perfect weeknight meal. Some people leave out the flour, but that helps thicken the sauce while it's reducing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The thyme in this is what ruined it for me, I will try it again but minus that spice, it over powers the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jomamascookin
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Terrific! I also skipped the four step and thickened sauce near the end with about 1 1/2 tsp of corn starch. I served it over thin spaghetti with a side of roasted baby potatoes and carrots. I was very impressed with the outcome and highly recommend everyone try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I thought this was fantastic! Very quick and easy and I loved the flavor! I only had 2 breasts but did not halve the sauce portion of the recipe and found it was the perfect amount to compliment the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
As written, I'd give this about a 3.5. It was good, don't get me wrong, but there were some things about the recipe that were a little confusing. The garlic. I threw the whole cloves of garlic into the skillet, but at that point, what do you do with them? I didn't want to eat whole cloves, so, since they were pretty soft by that point, I ended up mashing them. Next time, I'll probably run through the garlic press before I add them. The sauce. It gave the mushrooms a wonderful flavor, they really picked up the vinegar and were delicious, however, it didn't thicken at all until well after it had cooled. I'd like to maybe try a little cornstarch/water mix, just to keep it from being so runny. As chicken does, it took a little longer to cook, but the times listed are good guidelines. I'll probably make this again with the changes above, because I think this could be a very good dish, but as is, it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessiekml
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Fast, easy, very little cleanup. The taste? I didn't expect it to be so flavorful since I used non-premium balsamic vinegar (Heinz). Used shiitakes instead because that's all I had. Put less butter and used the pan with leftover flour seasoning to pour the broth from. Thickened the sauce pretty well. Added French beans in the last 2 minutes since I was too lazy to prepare another veg dish separately. Plated brown rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Not bad, but not very exciting. Followed the recipe exactly and can't understand all the fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States