Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Made this for the first time tonight and it was fabulous! I followed others' advice and doubled the cream sauce. I am glad I did that because we had exactly the right amount of sauce. I would highly recommend trying this WITHOUT putting any flour/cornstarch in the sauce because it was perfect without it. I usually like to try a recipe exactly as written the first time and then make adjustments (if needed) the next time. However, without changing any of the ingredients I did them a little differently. I marinated the chicken breasts in lemon juice for about 15 minutes and then seasoned them with ground pepper, sea salt, and fresh baby dill. I diced one clove of garlic and added it to the butter that the chicken cooked in. That was the only variation from the recipe that I made. My husband, daughter and son-in-law raved about this one and instructed me to give it a top rating. I will definitely make this many times again, it would be perfect for company. I served it with steamed broccoli and lightly buttered penne pasta with fresh grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
783 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Four stars as written, as I believe that with just cream the sauce would lack dimension and would be rather flat. I embellished upon the recipe which made this dish a solid five star recipe. The chicken, which I seasoned only with salt and freshly ground pepper, developed a much more appealing look and color dredged in flour before sauteeing. Once I turned it over I covered it just briefly to make sure it was cooked through. After removing the chicken to set aside, I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 c. of white wine, then added the cream, a good squeeze of lemon (didn't use the lemon pepper at all), and now the dill. I used only two chicken breasts but kept the sauce measurements the same (essentially doubled the sauce), and it was just the right amount. If prepared with the amount of sauce as the recipe directs it would be pretty skimpy! The chicken was moist, tender and flavorful, with a rich, creamy lemon/caper/wine/dill sauce that made an already good chicken something extraordinarily delicious. I served this with cappellini pasta and "Spaghetti Squash Saute," also from this site. This was an outrageously delicious dish, a definite "make again." This cooking method and the sauce, by the way, would also be wonderful with salmon or other types of fish as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
782 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
WOW!!! This had such fantastic flavor! I did make some changes to the recipe. I used chicken tenders instead of breast halves. I didn't have any lemon pepper so I used McCormick's Key West Spice Blend (lemon zest, basil and thyme) and added black pepper in it's place. I also deglazed the pan with a couple splashes of white wine before I sauted some garlic and added the fat free half and half, as suggested by others. It was outstanding! I have also substituted Tilapia for the chicken - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I'm here to tell you this recipe was elegant and exquisite!!! I made a couple of alterations: used heavy whipping cream, doubled and added 1 tbsp of flour to it for thicker sauce. Used a little Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning (we put it on everything in Louisiana!!!) in addition to the other seasonings for the chicken and sauteed freshly minced garlic before I added the chicken to the butter. Also cut the breasts into medium sized pieces and placed them back in the skillet with the sauce to mildly simmer for another 10-15 min. Definitely want some bread to dip in the sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This recipe is very delicious and easy! My picky 9-year-old nephew even loved it. My husband soaked up every bit of the sauce (that I doubled) with his rice and went back for seconds. I also pounded the chicken breasts thin like other reviewers suggested. The chicken cooks up really quick and tender this way. Or, you can use the thin-sliced chicken breasts at the supermarket if you are in a hurry. I am going to try fat-free half and half next time for some of the cream. Thanks for the great recipe! Update 1/17/06-Made again tonite and used fat-free half & half and less butter- worked great. Also, lightly floured chicken with the seasonings and put some of dill directly in sauce. Uploaded picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
For such a simple recipe, there was a lot a flavor carried in the sauce from the meat juices and fats in the cream. I used olive oil instead of butter to add a healthier element to the dish My husband and children LOVED this recipe, as did I! GREAT for a quick weeknight meal when you want to make it seem like you spent time in the kitchen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WESLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Pretty tasty. I used fat free half and half instead of whipping cream. Would double the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is one of my favorite chicken recipes. It is easy and very flavorful. I don't think it would be quite as nice if you made it with regular milk and flour or corn starch as other readers have done. Then it becomes gravy rather than sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Delicious, simple, and served with garlic mashed potatoes or brown rice, it is real comfort food. The cream is what gives this dish the richness it deserves....regular milk with cornstarch? Yikes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and easy! I sauteed some minced garlic in the butter before adding the chicken. I also used thin-sliced chicken breasts. Served up with some asparagus, and used the sauce on that as well. I would recommend doubling the cream to create more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,043) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States