Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
What a delightful dish, to heck with Cholesterol! Easy to make and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made this for ten people at a dinner party and served it over couscous with a Greek vegetable salad (tomatoes, olives, cucumber, bell peppers with a little oil and balsamic). It was such a hit! The sauce was a little thick and I wanted to ensure there was enough to go around, so I ended up adding a little 2% milk. The combination of the rich mascarpone, tart capers, and sweet dates is decadent beyond measure. Everyone loved the sauce so much - even my vegetarian friend (we spooned it over eggplant meatballs for him). Try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very good! Sauce was a bit thick, so next time would take on the suggestion to add some milk. Surprisingly nice combination. The caper and dates go so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband does not like capers. My husband does not like dates. My husband took a couple of bites of this dish and announced that I could put it on the weekly rota and he would happily eat it. And then he gobbled it all up! The only change I made was I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream because I had that in the fridge and it was cold and rainy and I didn't want to go out. I did neglect the sauce a bit and when I returned, it had separated in a terrible gloppy mess, but I just added some more 1/2 & 1/2 and stirred vigorously and it all settled down. Disaster averted! Served with a boxed Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil couscous and for veggie, I followed recommendation and put my own twist: I sauteed green beans, then 5 minutes before finishing, I tossed in a handful of tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced Kalamta lives and some Spice Isalnds Greek Seasoning (great all-purpose spice for the pantry shelf) And for those who think cooked cucumbers sound yucky, you haven't lived until you've had braised cucumbers, but's that's another recipe. I highly recommend this recipe. Yum! (In fact, I just had the leftovers from my plate---there were none from Husband's and Son's---for lunch. Nukes well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a really fantastic recipe. I swapped the couscous for Orzo (I was just in the mood) and ended up having to bake my chicken because my grill was broken. Also, I substituted thighs for the breasts because that's what I had on hand. The sauce is really sweet, but was it scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The flavors blended very nicely together. I do have a few tips that I would suggest, however. First, I think there needs to be either more chicken, or less of everything else. I would say double the chicken for this recipe. Also, it begins to get too sweet, and needs some side like a pasta salad of some sort, as suggested in earlier reviews... something salty. Otherwise, it's like eating too many cookies with no milk. Other than that, it's a pretty interesting blend of flavors worth trying. I might make this every now and again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I joined All Recipes to review this dish (eventhough I have been using allrecipes.com for years now). Delicious beyond measure! The sweetness was devine and original and perfectly paired with chicken. I made this exactly as directed by the chef and it was beautiful in presentation and very tasty. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the sweet sauce paired with the couscous. Too much sweetness. It would be better just over chicken with something on the side that is slightly salty like veggies or pasta. I baked the chicken with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil on it and that made the contrast between salty chicken and sweet sauce delicious! Also, for those of you with a thick sauce. The recipe is perfect, but you are letting it sit too long. Make sure it is on medium heat (no more) and just let the cheese melt into it. After it has melted, wait maybe a half a minute to ensure it is hot, then pour it over the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I don't make it often because of all the calories, but whenever I do everyone loves it! I usually end up using more cream and cheese than what the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I thought this sounded pretty bizarre, but I was ever so curious - I am SO GLAD I made it. Friends and family now request it ALL the time at my house. The kids really love it - they call it "Adventure Chicken" (cause of the capers - get it? Capers? Adventures? Ahem.) I can't get enough of the sauce, it's just excellent. Wickedchef, this is outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I don't know how the sauce would taste using cream but it was wonderful using half and half instead. When grilling chicken for dinner one evening we grilled extra chicken to have on hand to use for this recipe. That way this recipe was ready in less than 30 mins. The picture does not do the presentation of this dish justice. It was very attractive with the red tomto and green cucumber on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States