Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is now in regular rotation- the blend of these unique flavors makes the dish really special, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillianC
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I just finished making and eating this dish! I made a few changes: I used 6 chicken thighs instead of breast and doubled the sauce ingredients (except the capers since my boyfriend doesn't like them; I only used 1/4 cup). I grilled the chicken on our PC grill (like a George Foreman) and it wasn't dry at all. I used the couscous in a box that has raisins and nuts in it as I felt it would go well with the dates and capers in the sauce - I was right! I omitted the cucumber as I don't like them. I followed the chef's suggestions in his comment post and didn't put the sauce on the couscous - only on the chicken. And I made sure to squeeze some lemon juice over the chicken and sauce once I had plated it. It was all delicious! 2 thumbs up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wickedchef
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Thanks for all the comments I am glad you enjoyed it . Now some comments I added to times back but I guess it went under a adapted version .. so did not show up ..."Well actually I never wrote the chicken should be grilled when I transmitted the recipe, the Editor here at allrecipes.com took a few liberties i don't agree with . I would either poach the chicken or finish it in the oven i it gets to dry otherwise . And I would keep the chicken off the Couscous and don't sprinkle Dates on the CousCous ( gets to sweet.. ) and then the sauce needs to go on the chicken as well on the tomatoes and cucumbers ... ( Please see picture ) Just my original instructions , but you are free to try the editors way of doing it :-)" For the sweetness it is important to top it with the lime juice and as I said to season it , it should be a fine balance between sweet sour and savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The sauce alone was amazing!!!! such a wonderful mix of flavors and textures this dish is... a definite redo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Tavares

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I don't know how the sauce would taste using cream but it was wonderful using half and half instead. When grilling chicken for dinner one evening we grilled extra chicken to have on hand to use for this recipe. That way this recipe was ready in less than 30 mins. The picture does not do the presentation of this dish justice. It was very attractive with the red tomto and green cucumber on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I thought this sounded pretty bizarre, but I was ever so curious - I am SO GLAD I made it. Friends and family now request it ALL the time at my house. The kids really love it - they call it "Adventure Chicken" (cause of the capers - get it? Capers? Adventures? Ahem.) I can't get enough of the sauce, it's just excellent. Wickedchef, this is outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I don't make it often because of all the calories, but whenever I do everyone loves it! I usually end up using more cream and cheese than what the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I joined All Recipes to review this dish (eventhough I have been using allrecipes.com for years now). Delicious beyond measure! The sweetness was devine and original and perfectly paired with chicken. I made this exactly as directed by the chef and it was beautiful in presentation and very tasty. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the sweet sauce paired with the couscous. Too much sweetness. It would be better just over chicken with something on the side that is slightly salty like veggies or pasta. I baked the chicken with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil on it and that made the contrast between salty chicken and sweet sauce delicious! Also, for those of you with a thick sauce. The recipe is perfect, but you are letting it sit too long. Make sure it is on medium heat (no more) and just let the cheese melt into it. After it has melted, wait maybe a half a minute to ensure it is hot, then pour it over the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The flavors blended very nicely together. I do have a few tips that I would suggest, however. First, I think there needs to be either more chicken, or less of everything else. I would say double the chicken for this recipe. Also, it begins to get too sweet, and needs some side like a pasta salad of some sort, as suggested in earlier reviews... something salty. Otherwise, it's like eating too many cookies with no milk. Other than that, it's a pretty interesting blend of flavors worth trying. I might make this every now and again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a really fantastic recipe. I swapped the couscous for Orzo (I was just in the mood) and ended up having to bake my chicken because my grill was broken. Also, I substituted thighs for the breasts because that's what I had on hand. The sauce is really sweet, but was it scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States