Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
What a delightful dish, to heck with Cholesterol! Easy to make and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made this for ten people at a dinner party and served it over couscous with a Greek vegetable salad (tomatoes, olives, cucumber, bell peppers with a little oil and balsamic). It was such a hit! The sauce was a little thick and I wanted to ensure there was enough to go around, so I ended up adding a little 2% milk. The combination of the rich mascarpone, tart capers, and sweet dates is decadent beyond measure. Everyone loved the sauce so much - even my vegetarian friend (we spooned it over eggplant meatballs for him). Try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband does not like capers. My husband does not like dates. My husband took a couple of bites of this dish and announced that I could put it on the weekly rota and he would happily eat it. And then he gobbled it all up! The only change I made was I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream because I had that in the fridge and it was cold and rainy and I didn't want to go out. I did neglect the sauce a bit and when I returned, it had separated in a terrible gloppy mess, but I just added some more 1/2 & 1/2 and stirred vigorously and it all settled down. Disaster averted! Served with a boxed Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil couscous and for veggie, I followed recommendation and put my own twist: I sauteed green beans, then 5 minutes before finishing, I tossed in a handful of tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced Kalamta lives and some Spice Isalnds Greek Seasoning (great all-purpose spice for the pantry shelf) And for those who think cooked cucumbers sound yucky, you haven't lived until you've had braised cucumbers, but's that's another recipe. I highly recommend this recipe. Yum! (In fact, I just had the leftovers from my plate---there were none from Husband's and Son's---for lunch. Nukes well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wickedchef
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Thanks for all the comments I am glad you enjoyed it . Now some comments I added to times back but I guess it went under a adapted version .. so did not show up ..."Well actually I never wrote the chicken should be grilled when I transmitted the recipe, the Editor here at allrecipes.com took a few liberties i don't agree with . I would either poach the chicken or finish it in the oven i it gets to dry otherwise . And I would keep the chicken off the Couscous and don't sprinkle Dates on the CousCous ( gets to sweet.. ) and then the sauce needs to go on the chicken as well on the tomatoes and cucumbers ... ( Please see picture ) Just my original instructions , but you are free to try the editors way of doing it :-)" For the sweetness it is important to top it with the lime juice and as I said to season it , it should be a fine balance between sweet sour and savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I joined All Recipes to review this dish (eventhough I have been using allrecipes.com for years now). Delicious beyond measure! The sweetness was devine and original and perfectly paired with chicken. I made this exactly as directed by the chef and it was beautiful in presentation and very tasty. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the sweet sauce paired with the couscous. Too much sweetness. It would be better just over chicken with something on the side that is slightly salty like veggies or pasta. I baked the chicken with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil on it and that made the contrast between salty chicken and sweet sauce delicious! Also, for those of you with a thick sauce. The recipe is perfect, but you are letting it sit too long. Make sure it is on medium heat (no more) and just let the cheese melt into it. After it has melted, wait maybe a half a minute to ensure it is hot, then pour it over the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very good! Sauce was a bit thick, so next time would take on the suggestion to add some milk. Surprisingly nice combination. The caper and dates go so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The flavors blended very nicely together. I do have a few tips that I would suggest, however. First, I think there needs to be either more chicken, or less of everything else. I would say double the chicken for this recipe. Also, it begins to get too sweet, and needs some side like a pasta salad of some sort, as suggested in earlier reviews... something salty. Otherwise, it's like eating too many cookies with no milk. Other than that, it's a pretty interesting blend of flavors worth trying. I might make this every now and again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a really fantastic recipe. I swapped the couscous for Orzo (I was just in the mood) and ended up having to bake my chicken because my grill was broken. Also, I substituted thighs for the breasts because that's what I had on hand. The sauce is really sweet, but was it scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I don't make it often because of all the calories, but whenever I do everyone loves it! I usually end up using more cream and cheese than what the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I did a veggie version of this recipe by leaving out the chicken and it was awesome. I recommend using an ample pile of cucumber and tomato on the top of the dish (or sprinkled around it) to cut the delicious, but otherwise overwhelming sauce. An easy recipe to produce as long as you've got the ingredients around. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bayside, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States