Chicken Breast Stuffed with Spinach Blue Cheese and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Really delicious--if you like blue cheese. My husband calls this one a keeper. Instead of browning on the stove, I simply breaded these in breadcrumbs and crushed nuts and baked them. You can prepare several servings at once, freeze before baking, thaw and then bake at a later date. So I triple this recipe--not much more work, but we get three separate dinners out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
You know, I was actually going to make up a recipe for spinach and blue cheese stuffed chicken breasts, but came here first to see if there was a reicpe for what I had in mind. This is almost it! These are my changes: I only had fresh spinach so I wilted it in the micro (one-minute intervals...man that stuff shrinks!). Mixed it with blue cheese (for hubby, I did shredded mozzarella and a bit of light sour cream cause he dislikes blue cheese and I just had the mozz on hand). I then pounded my chicken breasts, spread the cheese mixture on one side and rolled it up, wrapping two whole, raw bacon slices around it. Didn't even need toothpicks. Pretty easy to prepare too (I prepared the cheese/spinach mixture ahead of time and put in in some tupperware in the fridge). I skipped the browning with flour and olive oil- as the bacon cooked in the oven it took care of that part. I loves this dish! Tasted hubby's and it was good, although not as good as mine, because I LOVE blue cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This recipe is SO good. One of my faves, and now I have it memorized. The only change I made was to add minced garlic and chopped onions. Everyone that has had it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallove81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I prepared this with my own twists on the recipe, mainly to accomodate the tastes of my blue cheese detesting husband--though I'm sure I would have rated it equally just as written. Just eyeballing it, I mixed the frozen spinach with Alouette Garlic and Herb cheese, and put a spoonful of this mixture on each pounded, flattened chicken breast. I rolled them up, and wrapped two slices of partially cooked bacon over each. I didn't bother with flouring them or browning them in a skillet, just simply placed them in a baking dish at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Moist and tender, SO flavorful, and pretty on the plate too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
These are very tasty. I don't like Blue Cheese, so I used fetta instead. I also added a little nutmeg to the spinach. (The flavouours go really well together. I stole this idea from my Lasagna recipe) I aldo added a couple tblsp of mayo, just for some creamyness. I topped the entire thing off with some grated monteray jack cheese. Wonderful combination! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I can't say enough about this meal...it ranks high on my list of "best things I've ever cooked!" I didn't measure the cheeses...I just used however much I preferred, and I used freshly chopped bacon bits rather than actual bacon strips. The chicken was so tender, and the cheeses I used (bleu cheese and feta) mixed with the bacon and spinach were delicious. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starksboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was really good, although I made a few adjustments. First, I sauteed fresh spinach with a crushed garlic clove in some olive oil. The cheese I used was one that I found in the gourmet cheese section at the market. It was a layered brick of blue cheese/old cheddar. The cheddar really helped keep the flavor mild. I think using the full amount of only blue cheese would have been overpowering, like others have mentioned. The chicken breasts I used were de-boned, but still had the skin on. I put the stuffing underneath the skin, then sauteed in a pan (without the flour). I finished these off in the oven. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Loved it! We browned the chicken before putting in the filling and it worked great. Also agree with the other folks about using half blue cheese and half feta...tastes great but not too overpowering. Will defintely makes this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this the other night. It was delicious. My boyfriend who declares that "no recipe deserves 5 stars, there's always room to improve" gave it 5 stars! Next time I think I will use fresh spinach and brown the chicken a little more. But it was so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Excellent! I butterflied the chicken breasts and folded them over and secured with toothpicks after putting the filling inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMON79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States