Chicken Breast Stuffed with Spinach Blue Cheese and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This recipe was pretty tasty! I had trouble getting all of the stuffing to fit into the chicken. So, I put some in the chicken before I browned it. Then I stuffed the chicken as much as I could after it was browned and then put the rest on top of the chicken in the baking dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
After reading many reviews for this recipe I had very high expectations. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I guess I never realized that I didn't have an affection for blue cheese. My boyfriend loved it, but I thought the whole thing just tasted weird. I wrapped the chicken in (turkey) bacon like others had suggested and even that didn't taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmyp24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
i made this recipe. I did add provalone cheese to the chicken. I also rolled them up as though I was making keiv. I let them rest for 30 minutes. I browned them in a large skillet and completed them in the oven on 350 for 20 minutes. My family loved them. My daughter even had this meal for breakfast the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikky J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
As mentioned in my original review...Must use the Amazing Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce" recipe from this site. It will help with the "dryness" reviewers keep mentioning. It's Awesome! WOW! Awesome! READ ON- THE SAUCE I USED IS A MUST!! I used 1/2 cup blue cheese, then some cream cheese. Also browned chix a little (no flour, only EVOO)..then slit a pocket in them and stuffed them...then closed with toothpicks...worked out perfectly! Also used a little garlic salt and salt and pepper. DEFINITELY needs a drizzle of sauce as suggested by others. I used the "Amazing Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce" recipe from this website...all I can say is UNBELIEVABLE. I can't even imagine this recipe working without that sauce. As a matter of fact, I eliminated the fatty bacon to compensate for the sauce. Also used 1/2 and 1/2 for the sauce instead of heavy cream, and again added a little garlic salt. No need to be adding sauteed onions or mushrooms if you spruce up with some garlic and/or garlic salt, the Sauce adds all the extra flavor this needs. I put the sauce on cooked Egg noodles and over the chicken. I will make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I just hate people who review recipes and start with "the only changes I made were", but here I am doing that. My hubby doesn't like blue cheese, so I substituted some very flavorful swiss instead. After reading several reviews about it not being flavorful enough, I sauteed mushrooms, onions and garlic in a little of the bacon grease. Mixed the spinach, swiss, mushrooms, bacon, onion and garlic together. It was OK, but still not quite flavorful enough for us. I do like blue cheese so perhaps I can try it when he's out of town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
What a delicious dish! I have made this several times and it takes substitutions or additions very well. I have added pine nuts, mushroom, garlic, onions and replaced the Blue Cheese with Feta, added Oregano and Basil and also wrapped the bacon around the chicken and baked it instead of putting the bacon in the stuffing. Any combination I make has turned out well and this is my go to recipe for guest dinners. I can make it ahead of time and take it from the fridge to the oven when I get home from work! It always looks like it was difficult to make and my guests love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Good recipe...I sauted onions and garlic and added to the spinach and cheese mixture. I too did not flour and brown. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper, added the spinach/cheese mixture (I used feta), folded over and baked 15 minutes covered and an additional 20 minutes uncovered. It's deelish but needs a sauce. I used the pan drippings and created a tastey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My family enjoyed this very much, even though I thought they wouldn't because of strong blue cheese is. However, I would make one modification. Instead of flattening the chicken breasts and trying to fold or roll them around the filling, it is WAY easier to cut a pocket in them to stuff them. It looks nicer that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is SO amazingly good!! I try to live the low carb lifestyle so I ditched the flour, and didn't fry it before I put it in the oven. Threw in some chopped onions and minced garlic, and used half feta and half blue cheese - was phenomenal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great Recipe! It was easy to follow, and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Altaviese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States