Chicken Bouillon Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I've been making rice like this for over 30 years. However, I've found that the amount of bouillon cubes, or teaspoons of dry or paste bouillon should equal the total amount of ingredients. Therefore, for 4 cups of water and 2 cups of rice, you would add 6 portions of chicken flavoring. I also use beef, pork and fish bouillon depending on what I'm serving it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I use canned chicken broth in place of the water & Bouillon cubes. A little butter, salt & pepper after its done. Add any cooked vegetables or Rotel tomatoes and you have a great and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I do something similar to this recipe. I use 1 chicken boullion cube per cup of water and add about 1/2 to 1 tsp or oregano or basil to the water as well. My rice always comes out a little creamier and more flavorful than plain rice... Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I cut this recipe in half and used about 3 bouillon cubes (I used granules and didn't measure). The rice came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I added salt and butter to mine. Actually, this is pretty close to the way I make rice (adding salt and butter really helps!), and I also like to add some frozen veggies to it, makes for a nice time-saver sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the recipe my husband taught me when he showed me how to make rice. The only problem with the bullion cubes is that one half of a cube (1500 mg) is the amount of salt you should have in one day. If you can buy low sodium premade chicken broth do so. If not use one cube. I love salt but my high blood pressure doesnt :)! Butter is good to add to but absolutley not necessary expecially if you are looking out for your health. If it is still too bland for you add some herbs or spice (Red peeeper, cayanne). I hope this helps whoever is trying to stay healthy out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I make this all the time, although I use 1 boullion cube per cup of water, salt and pepper. Turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
cut back on water by 1/4 cup and also add 1 tbsp. butter.....makes adifference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We love this simple rice! It doesnt get any easier or cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Followed instructions to the point and the rice turned out to be mushy and not tasty at all. Maybe it needs more bouillon. My sister did not like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States