Chicken Biscuit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Used less butter and added some olive oil instead of all butter. Low sodium-low fat chicken broth and fat free milk and low fat biscuit mix. Helped cut back on calories. Added some poultry seasoning and dry herbs to add to flavor to filling. Added steamed veges(just steamed a couple of minutes) and chicken to pot and poured into covered casserole, shoved in oven while biscuits partially baked(hadn't started to brown). Removed cover from casserole, topped with biscuits and placed back in over to finish baking biscuits to golden. Came out pretty good. Will probably play with recipe. Maybe add seasonings to biscuit mix--garlic, chives, rosemary or tarragon. Maybe fat free shredded cheese. Luckily my husband will eat just about anything when I'm experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
with added spice this is pretty good and easy to do. I work at a day care center and I am the cook, very busy so I experimented with the topping a little I made a pancake batter without the sugar and vanilla, used egg whites, which I beat stiff first and than just gently fold it in the batter, you just pour it on top of you chicken mixture and voila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I loved how this came out thick and very savory! I used flaky buttermilk biscuits from the store to save a little time and it worked wonderfully. I also did not have an onion so I simply skipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aislynm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Simple and good. I used leftover turkey and added poultry seasoning. Baked at 450F for 15 minutes, then left the mixture for another 15 minutes in the hot oven with the oven off and the door open before serving. The biscuits were cooked through. Will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Great dish for leftover chicken...I added a bit more seasoning to perk up the flavor. I used a little Bell's seasoning and some celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bender-Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
After adding additional spices for flavor and cutting the butter in the sauce in half and cooking at 400 degrees for 25 minutes - it turned out nicely. All and all it's not exactly healthy but it's nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Exactly what I wanted. Added celery and carrots to the sauteed onions. Awesome biscuits. I too had the doughy biscuit problem noted by other reviewers, even after making the biscuit dough before the filling and adding to hot filling. Turned off the oven and left the dish in the warm oven for about 10 more minutes and the doughy problem rectified itself. As a vegetarian, it's hard to find satisfying winter comfort food, so I subbed in seitan and "not-chicken" broth. Stored leftover filling in separate container than biscuits and reheated in the toaster oven. Perfect snowy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I thought it was awesome. I added some rosemary and some thyme to the biscuit mixture. I myself love the "wet" mixture so I would maybe double that next time. And also set the oven at 375 and bake for at least 20 minutes so the biscuits get done evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Added some extra veggies (celery, corn, etc.) and used all milk rather than broth. Kept biscuit dough gloppy, as suggested, and baked at 350 for 14 min. 450 would have been way too high a setting. My kids LOVED this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very very good. A touch bland if you don't add a few extra spices, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States