Chicken Biscuit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars but with a few changes it is a 5. I am the kitchen manager for a rescue mission and have to feed alot of people on a small budget. And this dish is definetly a low cost meal that delivers big results. Here are the changes I made - first I sauteed together chopped onions, celery & carrots - which is called a mirepoix. Then I added the flour and then milk with some chicken stock. To this I added additional seasoning - garlic powder, thyme, rosemary, and sage. Then I added canned vegetables and canned chicken. Of course fresh would be better - but I use what comes in the back door - so we get alot of canned items. The consistency is like thick gravy. Then I poured this mixture into my pans. I have a bakery mix that is much like Bisquick I used to make the biscuit mixture. In reading the other reviews I noticed that the same issue kept coming up - the biscuits were done on top but still gooey/runny on the bottom. So I made my biscuit mixture a little on the "sloppy" side - not runny like pancake batter - and not doughy like biscuit dough - but somewhere in the middle- "gloppy". Then I spooned the biscuit batter on top of the chicken mixture in spoonfuls that left about a inch space around the "glop" as the glop will rise and expand as it cooks. It is important to leave a little room around your glops as this allows the biscuits to cook through. I got sloppy with my glops on the last pan and put them too close together and they didn't cook all the way th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is excellent and was just what I was looking for -- I had no wish to use "whack-em-on-the-counter" biscuits like so many other recipes call for, and I didn't want to use pie dough. For those folks who had problems with the biscuits not being cooked on the bottom: prepare the biscuit dough BEFORE you make the chicken mixture, and be sure to preheat the oven so it's ready as soon as the chicken mixture is poured into the casserole dish and the biscuit dough is QUICKLY spooned on top. The point of putting the biscuit dough on the HOT chicken mixture is to start cooking the biscuits immediately, so they don't get soggy on the bottom. This is why dumplings go into HOT stew, and cobbler dough goes onto HOT cooked fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
We love this recipe! It's a wonderful way to use up leftover chicken. I use frozen peas, but slice my own carrots and cook them for 5 min. first before adding them to the chicken mixture. To cut down on preparation time, I used frozen biscuits. I baked them on a separate pan at 375 degrees for only five minutes and then put them on the hot chicken mixture and baked at 425 degrees for 12 minutes. Everything was perfect! If you feel the biscuits are getting a little too brown, cover the dish with aluminum foil. I served this with a mixed greens salad. Fast, easy, and comforting with ingredients one generally has on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Definitely a go-to recipe for leftover chicken. I do make some changes, though: -I times it by 1.5 (x2 would be fine, too) and put it in a 13x9 dish -I use 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil (but I don't think you need to use as much as the recipe suggests) -I add thyme, sage, rosemary, and use white pepper vs. black, and next time I'll try garlic like one reviewer suggested. -I use frozen mixed veggies. -I use my own Betty Crocker baking powder biscuit recipe, cut out, place on top, and bake @ 375 for 40 minutes--comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was pretty good. I think the temp of the oven was too high though. 450 over browned the biscuits on top and left them slightly gooey on bottom. I had to put back in the oven after the suggested amount of time. Would probably lower the temp to 350 and bake longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is the best chicken pie recipe I have ever tried. I substitute Bisquick for the topping (for time's sake). I have also topped it with a pie crust instead of the biscuits. It tastes great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Simple and good. I used leftover turkey and added poultry seasoning. Baked at 450F for 15 minutes, then left the mixture for another 15 minutes in the hot oven with the oven off and the door open before serving. The biscuits were cooked through. Will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I loved how this came out thick and very savory! I used flaky buttermilk biscuits from the store to save a little time and it worked wonderfully. I also did not have an onion so I simply skipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aislynm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe is a good, basic pot pie. I used mixed vegetables and refrigerator biscuits. I added rosemary and thyme and baked them in individual souffle cups. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
This has wonderful flavor and easy to make. I added other seasonings too. It reminds me of those higher dollar store bought Chicken Pot Pies. I would definitely make it again. Sorry! No 'Kid Friendly Rating' because I don't have any. But I were still a kid, I WOULD eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States