Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
extremely delicious & authentic! slightly time consuming to gather ingredients, but actually quite easy to make. serve with naan bread and a curried cauliflower/chick pea side dish. highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
If my rating was just for taste, this would get 5 stars. Although it's not a quick recipe, it's not difficult (just follow the directions). The result it an absolutely superb one-in-one-pot meal that is well worth the effort and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe is just like what I eat in restaurants! I am Egyptian but I love Biryani and yesterday I decided to cook it to my fiance and he just lovced it. Initially I thought he might be saying he loved it to flatter me. But eating more than one third of the whole dish proved me wrong. I took the advice on one of the reviews on this recipe to prepare all ingredients in advance. One tip, when you cook the chicken, do not start cooking the rice immeditely. You have to wait for may be 30 minutes then start with the rice. That is because you will have to add the chicken (which is supposed to be already cooked) to the rice when you are cooking it! So unless the chicken is cooked or at least you have maximum 10 minutes to go, do not start with cooking the rice. Thanks for the person who wrote the recipe. Salma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
Alot of works to do,but worth the efforts ! Tastes terrific,try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
This is by far the absolute best byrianni recipe I ever tasted and the only recipe that has worked for me. I normally hate byrianni but this is one recipe that even I couldn't resist. My husband was really excited when he peeked inside the pan to see what was for dinner and he ended up eating too much :)~ This recipe really saved the day! For the best tasting results I always use Cornish Hens (the little chilckens) as they always seem to cook the best and have the best flavour. You may want to cut up and use two of the little chilkens but I gurantee they give a much more pleasant taste and appearance to the dish than the larger chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This recipe is excellent. My husband is English and loves Pakistani/Indian food and for years I have experimented and nothing has come out this good. It's not a quick recipe but worth it, make sure you don't leave out any ingredients! Its good for the kids too, not too spicy. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Chicken Biryani is one of the more complicated rice dishes in Indian/pakistani cooking. Being quite an amateur cook, I still managed to cook up a feast with this single dish and my hubby is still licking his fingers! I am never looking for another biryani recipe after this . Thanks Nazia- Radhika & Jai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I made this recipe for a big Diwali party (a traditional Hindu celebration) and got raves. People were asking for the recipe and for leftovers to take home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I skipped the potatoes & added Mace to the chicken. It was delicious. Thanks Nazia for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My Brother-in-law is from Pakistan and I love their food so I was looking for recipes to fix for my family. I found this one and my husband has added it to his favorites catagory. I even fixed it for my mother-in-law and she loved it too. Hint on how to make it not take so long...measure out all of your spices and ingredients prior to cooking. Do all of your chopping of the onions and all first and it will go a lot faster. I have fixed this many times now and we love it. Today I am going to substitute beef for the chicken and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States