Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This was a great dish! My husband loved it. I served it with pita bread, sliced feta, and Kefir on the side. I followed the receipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
The cardomam overwhelmed the other ingredients, so next time I'll bump up the other spices and reduce that a touch. Nevertheless, it was GREAT and days later my ravenous horde of friends is still raving. Also, I recommend adding pistachios or cashews for a nice compliment to the spices and make sure you have a food processor or some kind of chopper or you'll lose your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I am Bengali and love biryani. I doubled the spices to the curry portion and added raisins and cashews after i poured in the chicken stock. Very good and easy to make if you have all your ingredients and pots/pans laid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe is just like what I eat in restaurants! I am Egyptian but I love Biryani and yesterday I decided to cook it to my fiance and he just lovced it. Initially I thought he might be saying he loved it to flatter me. But eating more than one third of the whole dish proved me wrong. I took the advice on one of the reviews on this recipe to prepare all ingredients in advance. One tip, when you cook the chicken, do not start cooking the rice immeditely. You have to wait for may be 30 minutes then start with the rice. That is because you will have to add the chicken (which is supposed to be already cooked) to the rice when you are cooking it! So unless the chicken is cooked or at least you have maximum 10 minutes to go, do not start with cooking the rice. Thanks for the person who wrote the recipe. Salma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I liked it, but a lot of work! And Also if you like it spicy, add spices or chilies because it was rather bland. The rice came out looking great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My Brother-in-law is from Pakistan and I love their food so I was looking for recipes to fix for my family. I found this one and my husband has added it to his favorites catagory. I even fixed it for my mother-in-law and she loved it too. Hint on how to make it not take so long...measure out all of your spices and ingredients prior to cooking. Do all of your chopping of the onions and all first and it will go a lot faster. I have fixed this many times now and we love it. Today I am going to substitute beef for the chicken and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
The dish was quite good, but I'm not sure if the outcome warranted the amount of work put into it. I don't think I'll be making this often simply because I don't have the time to, but I'll probably try it again on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I spent about 3 hours preparing everything. It smelled absolutely fabulous but the taste was a real let-down. It didn't get any better the next day either. Perhaps another shot before giving up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I skipped the potatoes & added Mace to the chicken. It was delicious. Thanks Nazia for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
While the spice combination is delightful, I had some difficulty in getting the rice to cook properly. The resulting dish was thus less than it could have been, disappointing considering the various steps involved. I shall try it again, perhaps with better luck-- the flavour really is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States