Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Very good; really reflects the complex interplay of spices and flavors that is biryani. But I can't give it five stars because, while not a difficult recipe, it is very time consuming: it took me 2.5 hours from beginning chopping to putting it on the table. (I imagine I'll be faster next time, but it's probably still nearly two hours in raw cooking time. I'm trying to think of ways to do this faster. If I come up with something significant I'll try to remember to update this review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I've never tasted indian food before, even if I came from it's neighbouring country, so I decided to give this a try. I didn't wanted it to be too dry, so I doubled the amount of yoghurt (actually I think I dumped in 1/2 cups of yoghurt, while I reduced the meat to using only 2 chicken breast-halves). After tasting the gravy, I added crushed corriander, sugar, and garam masala but that was my own preference. The end result was delicious!! I served it over nasi kuning, which is an Indonesian yellow rice dish. Giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I haven't made thsi recipe, but I am an Indian and both my husband and I loovveee Biryani and cook often. If you want to know the secret to fast biryani cooking, go to any Indian/Pakistani grocery store and buy "Shan" spice mix for it, its so easy adn really good. I can't say the best, but its so much easier than doing everything that Biryani recipe makes you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
this recipe is absolute rubbish , excuse me but it is not biryani its more like a mixture of tahiri and pullao
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
It was really good, but not quite up to expectations. It could be my fault...I didn't have cardamom pods, so I substituted 1/2 tsp ground cardamom per pod for it. The whole dish was overly redolent of cardamom. I was expecting something more balanced, so next time (and there will be a next time), I'll give the pods a try as the recipe calls for. Finally, I didn't add the salt into the rice portion of the dish, figuring the salt in my Swanson's chicken broth would be enough. It wasn't. Next time I'll trust the recipe more. Absolutely worth a try, just be aware that you may need to be more literal about this recipe than some other ones on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
this was tasty, but was alot of work. I was hoping it would be a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I do not know when was the last time I made Indian food from scratch so as I was making this I did not know if it was going well or not. However, in the end it was delicious. It does take time to make but if you have preparations made in advance, it is not so bad and is well worth it. Thank you for this delicious recipe. Please send more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I found this recipe to be tasty but I agree with some of the other reviewers- a lot of time and energy required for this recipe! I also found that my chicken went rather dry. The amount of food it made was also huge!! I could have fed a family of 10 on this amount. Additionally, it did not keep very well as the leftovers were quite dry the next day. But to be fair, the flavour was very nice when fresh from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Didn't really taste like the biryani in the Indian restaurants here in the Detroit area, but it was flavorful and did taste "Indian". We added raisins and nuts, which gave it a nice twist. This was a chore (almost 4 hours!), so make sure you have plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States