Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I don't have a problem with recipes that have several steps and/or require a lot of prep time, as long as the results are worth it. This wasn't worth it, imo. I ended up adding a lot more spices and yogurt, and most of a can of tomatoes. The end result wasn't terrible, but it was quite a lot of work for rather mediocre results. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was great; the cardamom offers a delicious and different flavor. The only change I made is using water rather than broth to cook the rice in; with all the spices it seems unneccessary and wasteful to use broth. I'll definitely make biryani again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe is awesome! The best biryani recipe ever! I skipped the potatoes since it dint work well for me before. After reading a few reviews, I decided to add more spice. I added 1 tsp of chilli powder, 1 tsp of ground pepper instead of half tsp each. This is the first time that I have succeeded in making a good biryani! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I made this as a covered dish for our foreign exchange student's orientation. It was a huge hit. My son, who is a picky eater, told me the recipe was a keeper! I did not have cardamomor powdered saffron. I used a biryani spice mix, omitting the spices included in the mix. I also used saffron threads, which probably would have made the rice a beautiful yellow had I known how to use it properly. Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This really isn't the best biryani recipe I've made, but it's fast for biryani so I thought I'd give it a shot. I had to double all the curry spices and added a good helping of garam marsala. I never even tasted a hint of mint so I'm thinking that doubling the mint might help as well. When you're cooking your rice, I would eliminate the onions and let the spices sit in the oil until it's nice and fragrant. Then add the rice and cook for five minutes to let the rice absorb some of the flavors. Once you've added it to the rest of the recipe don't cook on the lowest temp or it will get soggy. You need to cook basmati rice on a med-low heat and much faster to avoid soggy rice. This recipe is HUGE. I cut it down to four servings and still had too much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Even with all the spices, it was slightly bland in my opinion, but better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
hey I jst made my 1st biryani wid ur recipe n u no what it turned out to be awsome.. thanks a million..i never thought making biryani was so easy.. once more thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
While this recipe is time consuming, it is well worth it! I made a couple changes, I added cashews and raisins when adding the chicken broth, and I used chicken wings and drumsticks with the bone-in instead of cutting up the whole chicken. This is easier, and I wanted to avoid dry pieces of chicken in other biryani dishes that I have had. The chicken came out extremely tender, it was falling off the bone. Absolutely delicious! The flavor is mild for the Indian palatte, so if you like it spicy add more spice, but overall this recipe is a definite keeper. This would be a great dish to make for a lot of people as the quantity is large. Also be sure to use basmati rice with this it is so aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
It was magnificent! the most delicious biryani i ever [made] and ate! it was perfect. fortunately, all my procedure went good . thanks a lot NAZIA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was pretty good. I think I messed up in chopping the onions too finely as the mixture was quite liquid-y. And I think cooking the rice on the lowest setting on my stove was too low as it ended up being mushy as well. But texture aside, the flavors were mild, but very nice. I would season the potatoes & chicken a bit next time, or dice them a bit smaller, as they were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States