Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
great recipe! it was a little too mild for me, and considering i'm pretty sensitive to hotness.. i'd add some more chili powder i also added peas, carrots, and red bell peppers which i thought was a great touch. (the bell peppers especially gave it a refreshing crunchiness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Amazing!!! This recipes took FOREVER to make! But it is lots of fun if you have good wine, music and company while you make it-:) Preparation and Eating was a totally spiritual experience:) Certainly a dish I will reserve for special occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe - it was easy to make, prepared quickly, and is tasty. Next time, I will pre-wash my rice to avoid some of the pastiness. I used ingredients that I had on-hand which included: Boneless, skinless chicken thighs - I'd recommend thighs over breast, or bone-in pieces (even though most authentic Biryani seems to contain bone-in chicken). Ground cinnamon - since I had no sticks available, using ground cinn. did not detract in any way. Dried mint flakes instead of fresh - again, using dried mint had no negative effect. Ground ginger - no problem with this substitution. Sour cream instead of yogurt - another harmless substitution. I had no cardamom...it would have been nice, but it was fine without. Preparation - I prepped the potatoes as directed, then prepped the rice and chicken separately. I combined the chicken, potatoes, and rice at the very end to speed the process and keep the potatoes from getting too mushy. This was not exactly like the Biryani that I eat in restaurants, but was every bit as good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We love indian food, and found this recipe as a good starter. I have made it 2 or 3 times and have compared it with other biryani recipes I have found. I think if I had a biryani spice mix maybe that would kick it up a notch, but as it is, I would increase the cumin, ginger, and garlic as well as the clove. Other biryani's I have had have included cauliflower, carrots, peas, raisins and cashews and I include them in lieu of the potatoes. Since there is already rice, I don't see the need for another starch. I would also use ghee rather than oil. And last, I would use 3 or 4 tomatoes instead of only 2. I would look for a solution to the problem I had of cooking the rice, on a low setting, the rice at the top was crunchy and the rice at the bottom was soggy. Also, i like some heat in my indian food and this is completely without any spiciness to speak of...I would put a tsp of garam masala to give it some of the hot spice I anticipate when I eat indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Indian restaurants are few and far between, hence I tried to make one at home. After endless search and trials, this one is perfect for me and my husband (we both worked in the Middle Eastern region at one time). Time consuming but really worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cavite City, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I'm only giving 4 stars because I think potatos in Biryani is wierd (I left them out). With that adjustment, plus extra mint, and a biryani spice mix instead of the powders, it was EXCELLENT. But this is all according to taste, so do whatever you want to adjust to yours and it will be a 5 star meal. I think next time I will use ground spices in the rice rather than the whole (even if it is more authentic, I don't like to bite down on a whole cardamom or clove, and I don't think the flavors got to the rest of the rice as powedered spices would).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The taste made my boyfriend fall in love with me, again..The way to a man's heart is through his stomach.. and now i totally believe that..Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This came out great. A little labor intensive, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was pretty good, but I thought it was alot of work. My rice also turned out a bit too soft. Served it with plain yoghurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
really really enjoyed this dish, fantastice recipe! i would definitely recommend, i did add extra chilli as prefer it to be a little spicier. my little sister also enjoyed it even though she is a very picky eater. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States