Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was the first biryani recipe that I tried and have been cooking it for about a year now whenever I'm craving some Indian food. I bought packaged spice mixes from my trip to India a two years ago and use the one labeled Madras curry and potato masala instead of measuring every single spice out, but I still add in the cinnamon sticks and whole cloves and it tastes great. I also add some more vegetables: carrots, peas and more potatoes, then it's a hearty main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
It was great! Though I did need some added zing - maybe some Paprika? I felt it needed to be much spicier, but the flavor overall was great, and most of my friends who enjoyed this dish are not into spicy foods - so just perfect! I did not have yogurt on hand - used sour cream instead and it tasted just fine. Curious to know what the difference in taste might have been. Definitely making again in the very near future! Served w/Basmati rice & I also sprinkled lots of the Pampered Chef Moroccan Rub on top! MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I'm a little confused, It says 2 large onions, finely chopped & then 1 large onion, diced again? Is it a combination? Is it meant to combined?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
my mom makes the best biryani but she makes the boxed one from p[ran
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahnia123

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing. We didn't have Saffron so we used Saffron rice mixed with Basmati rice. We have a top notch Indian food restaurant close by that this recipe rivals, if not exceeds. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My first time to cook chicken biryani, it turnout really good, my hubbie loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a little bit different than other biryani I have tried but it is excellent. It is worth the time it takes to put it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Of all the Biryani recipes that I've tried so far, this one is my top favorite. I hardly made any changes to it and it turned out super delicious....love it. the cooking time is not as long as it seems, the only time consuming part is cooking the chicken. I'm definitely going to make it over and over again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Five stars if the spices were doubled and half were used to pre-season the chicken. I cooked the chicken on it's own, then added to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Love Love Love :) Biryani has always intimidated me, but this was delicious. The hubbs agreed, as evident by his desire for second helpings. He couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States