Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
The dish was quite good, but I'm not sure if the outcome warranted the amount of work put into it. I don't think I'll be making this often simply because I don't have the time to, but I'll probably try it again on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I spent about 3 hours preparing everything. It smelled absolutely fabulous but the taste was a real let-down. It didn't get any better the next day either. Perhaps another shot before giving up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I skipped the potatoes & added Mace to the chicken. It was delicious. Thanks Nazia for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
While the spice combination is delightful, I had some difficulty in getting the rice to cook properly. The resulting dish was thus less than it could have been, disappointing considering the various steps involved. I shall try it again, perhaps with better luck-- the flavour really is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I made this recipe for a big Diwali party (a traditional Hindu celebration) and got raves. People were asking for the recipe and for leftovers to take home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Very complex instructions, and the end result was not as desirable as one might have thought from the smells. I think the Turmeric gave it a 'dusty' taste - my younger brother (age 16) said "why'd you put dirt in this?" - I would recommend the rice part of this dish, it's fabulous, but skip the lengthy process on the chicken, it's too complex, and doesn't taste nearly as good as it smells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
If my rating was just for taste, this would get 5 stars. Although it's not a quick recipe, it's not difficult (just follow the directions). The result it an absolutely superb one-in-one-pot meal that is well worth the effort and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Chicken Biryani is one of the more complicated rice dishes in Indian/pakistani cooking. Being quite an amateur cook, I still managed to cook up a feast with this single dish and my hubby is still licking his fingers! I am never looking for another biryani recipe after this . Thanks Nazia- Radhika & Jai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This recipe is excellent. My husband is English and loves Pakistani/Indian food and for years I have experimented and nothing has come out this good. It's not a quick recipe but worth it, make sure you don't leave out any ingredients! Its good for the kids too, not too spicy. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
This is by far the absolute best byrianni recipe I ever tasted and the only recipe that has worked for me. I normally hate byrianni but this is one recipe that even I couldn't resist. My husband was really excited when he peeked inside the pan to see what was for dinner and he ended up eating too much :)~ This recipe really saved the day! For the best tasting results I always use Cornish Hens (the little chilckens) as they always seem to cook the best and have the best flavour. You may want to cut up and use two of the little chilkens but I gurantee they give a much more pleasant taste and appearance to the dish than the larger chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States