Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I give it a like because my fiancee who HATES Indian food likes it. To me, however, it is not spicy at all.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is not a biryani, it is actually a pulao. In a biryani, the meat is cooked at the bottom of the pot and the rice, butter and spiced are layered on top of it. However, this recipe is delicious and takes way less time than a biryani! I always make this recipe a little more traditional by topping the finished dish with chopped mint and coriander, and drizzling it with melted clarified butter (ghee) and a little rose water. This really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Fox
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have made this recipe about 5 times now and it is a very good base. I have made some changes, just as it seems others who have rated this recipe have done. I wanted to make it taste more like the biryiani that my favorite Indian restaurant makes. It is not very hot spicy at all so I added about 2 tsp cayenne pepper and a chopped jalapeño when I sauted the onion. I also increased the amount of all the spices, about double the amount works in my opinion. I did not have cardamom pods so I used 3/4 tsp ground cardamom instead and I also used saffron threads instead. I added about a cup each of broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and string beans, all cut up into appropriate sizes and sauted in vegetable oil. Those were added into the rice with the potatoes. I also threw in golden raisins and cashews. When all these changes were made, my family thought the biryiani was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
not flavourful enough. It was good, but not an Indian dish I was expecting. It makes tons of food, next time I will use less rice and chicken but the same amount of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe. This was my first attempt at Indian cuisine and it was delicious. It takes some time to prepare but the results are worth it. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil and white rice for the basmati rice, but otherwise I followed the recipe as-is. My kids, who are both picky eaters, loved it. One mistake I made was using canned tomatoes--I added the entire contents of the can instead of draining the tomatoes first. This added excessive fluid to the gravy mixture resulting in longer cooking times before it would thicken. Next time I will drain and add the liquid only as needed. I bought fresh mint per the recipe and I'm glad I did--you can taste it in the baked dish and I think it really helps bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband is from Sind province, Pakistan. I've been cooking Pakistani/Indian dishes for 25 years. I thought I'd try this recipe. My family liked it, but not as much as the authentic style I usually make. This is more like a plou not biryani. I will make this again with a few variations. Instead of frying more onions while cooking the rice. I will add the spices and let them fry until fragrant then add the rice and the chicken stock. ( to tell you the truth, I will probably use water not stock) I will cook the rice until half done. Then in a new pot I will scoop 1/3 of the chicken mixture on the bottom. Add some fresh mint leaves and some fresh tomatoes slices on top. Then put 1/3 of the half-boiled rice on top. I will layer two more times ending with the rice on top. As someone noted you really need to cook the rice on medium heat or it will be soggy. That is why it is best to cook the rice separately half way then layer. At the end, when there is no more liquid left you can cover it with a couple paper towels or a cloth and then put the lid on top. That is when you simmer it on low temperature for 20 mins. That helps to remove more moisture and the rice will come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Excellent ! I changed the servings for two people (the salt was a little short). My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My guests really like this as lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love this recipe, not spicy at all, I am able to make as spicy as I like. Great tasting, little time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Lovely Biryani. Used to eat this a lot at work many years ago when I was working for Indian people. Always wanted to try it for myself, so I tried this recipe. Only negative was that my potatoes was not cooked. Next time I'll add them while the sauce reduces. I'd rather have them overcooked, than not properly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States