Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe was amazing.... all my guests loved it. Since I did not have a large utensil to cook the meat and rice together, they were cooked separately and combined after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent combination of flavours. Instead of water, use chicken stock by dissolving a stock cube in boiling water. Will go soggy if too much liquid is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe was excellent! Very different from the mughalai version of biryani. I made a few modifications though because I did not have all the ingredients. I used biryani masala (available at all indian grocery stores) instead of cloves. I also doubled the quantity of chili peppers bcoz I used the tiny red Thai chilis and we like it hot in our house:) I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and added 2 potatoes too (I love potatoes in biryani). The recipe is definitely a keeper.Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I wanted to tell everyone that there is no need to temper the yogurt. It will not ruin the dish if you add it all at once. It may look curdled but it is fine. Lipstickfetish, you didnt need to throw away the dish! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Great Recipe...makes a ton of food though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken_H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was wonderful, but I need to suggest one major change to the recipe -- use basmati rice, not jasmine/regular white rice. This biryani is very delicately spiced, as it should be, and the yoghurt adds a nice touch. My local market was out of curry leaves at my last trip, so I used just a bit of mild curry powder to add extra flavor. Also, make sure to invest in ghee for this recipe. I would actually give the recipe just under 5 stars due to the kind of rice suggested, but it was altogether a great biryani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very easy to make. My wife and I love the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious, easy to follow and really worth all the time and effort....thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is virtually indestructible. I made A LOT of substitutions and still the flavor came out rich, the texture was great, and the presentation beautiful. I didn't have cloves, so I substituted cinnamon. I didn't have whole chicken so I used chicken breast, and to compensate for flavor, used a bullion cube when adding water. I didn't have curry leaves so I used dried curry and I didn't have green peppers so I used one red pepper and cayenne powder. I didn't have any problem with curdling -- used a thick Dutch yogurt. I didn't have jasmine rice so I had to use risotto. I can see that the jasmine would have been better (lighter and fluffier) and that cloves would have been better than cinnamon. But all in all, it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Oh my god, this is so good! Although I can handle heat pretty well I am surely no native; so I was skeptical about the amount of chilies. It turned out to be perfect, absolutely perfect. Best curry I've ever made and in the top 5 I've ever eaten. I will make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States