Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent combination of flavours. Instead of water, use chicken stock by dissolving a stock cube in boiling water. Will go soggy if too much liquid is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe was excellent! Very different from the mughalai version of biryani. I made a few modifications though because I did not have all the ingredients. I used biryani masala (available at all indian grocery stores) instead of cloves. I also doubled the quantity of chili peppers bcoz I used the tiny red Thai chilis and we like it hot in our house:) I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and added 2 potatoes too (I love potatoes in biryani). The recipe is definitely a keeper.Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I wanted to tell everyone that there is no need to temper the yogurt. It will not ruin the dish if you add it all at once. It may look curdled but it is fine. Lipstickfetish, you didnt need to throw away the dish! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Great Recipe...makes a ton of food though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken_H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe was amazing.... all my guests loved it. Since I did not have a large utensil to cook the meat and rice together, they were cooked separately and combined after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was wonderful, but I need to suggest one major change to the recipe -- use basmati rice, not jasmine/regular white rice. This biryani is very delicately spiced, as it should be, and the yoghurt adds a nice touch. My local market was out of curry leaves at my last trip, so I used just a bit of mild curry powder to add extra flavor. Also, make sure to invest in ghee for this recipe. I would actually give the recipe just under 5 stars due to the kind of rice suggested, but it was altogether a great biryani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
If you have never cooked with yogurt you should know about 'tempering' before you make this dish. Sorry to say that I found out the hard way, and after 30 minutes of cooking ruined the entire dinner when the addition of yogurt caused the sauce to curdle! Determined to get dinner on the table, I did remake the entire recipe- this time using great care to add the liquid slowly to the yogurt. The end result was good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very easy to make. My wife and I love the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this for my family and I, and we loved it. Had to add some more salt and garlic for extra taste but in the end it was very tasty. I didnt feel like making raita so I just topped it with some plain yougurt... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Giving it rating so I can add a comment. With yogurt if you use full fat yogurt it usually wont look curdled or chunky. The low fat or fat free ones will. It doesn't change the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LApagmom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States