Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent and easy to make. To flavor it a little add ginger to onions while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Oh my god, this is so good! Although I can handle heat pretty well I am surely no native; so I was skeptical about the amount of chilies. It turned out to be perfect, absolutely perfect. Best curry I've ever made and in the top 5 I've ever eaten. I will make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is virtually indestructible. I made A LOT of substitutions and still the flavor came out rich, the texture was great, and the presentation beautiful. I didn't have cloves, so I substituted cinnamon. I didn't have whole chicken so I used chicken breast, and to compensate for flavor, used a bullion cube when adding water. I didn't have curry leaves so I used dried curry and I didn't have green peppers so I used one red pepper and cayenne powder. I didn't have any problem with curdling -- used a thick Dutch yogurt. I didn't have jasmine rice so I had to use risotto. I can see that the jasmine would have been better (lighter and fluffier) and that cloves would have been better than cinnamon. But all in all, it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great flavor. I did not have the paste, and used crushed garlic instead. Instead of letting the juice cook down to one cup, I took the chicken out and put it in a roasting pan, and placed the remaining juice, pan scraps in my blender. With the curded yogurt it turned into a thick flavorful sauce, and was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knux11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious, easy to follow and really worth all the time and effort....thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Giving it rating so I can add a comment. With yogurt if you use full fat yogurt it usually wont look curdled or chunky. The low fat or fat free ones will. It doesn't change the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LApagmom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this for my family and I, and we loved it. Had to add some more salt and garlic for extra taste but in the end it was very tasty. I didnt feel like making raita so I just topped it with some plain yougurt... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very easy to make. My wife and I love the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
If you have never cooked with yogurt you should know about 'tempering' before you make this dish. Sorry to say that I found out the hard way, and after 30 minutes of cooking ruined the entire dinner when the addition of yogurt caused the sauce to curdle! Determined to get dinner on the table, I did remake the entire recipe- this time using great care to add the liquid slowly to the yogurt. The end result was good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was wonderful, but I need to suggest one major change to the recipe -- use basmati rice, not jasmine/regular white rice. This biryani is very delicately spiced, as it should be, and the yoghurt adds a nice touch. My local market was out of curry leaves at my last trip, so I used just a bit of mild curry powder to add extra flavor. Also, make sure to invest in ghee for this recipe. I would actually give the recipe just under 5 stars due to the kind of rice suggested, but it was altogether a great biryani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States