Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
this is nt biryani ,this is chicken khichidi, the recipe is totally wrong..........!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This sounds so good, but I was really disappointed at the fact that it had so many good tasting ingredients but such a lack of flavor. I don't understand how this turned out to be so bland, and I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Actually, this recipe is incomplete. I hail from Hyderabad. I don't see any instruction to layer the meat and the rice. Although we suggest 1:3 water for rice, this is not standard. You must vary the water according to your rice. And yes, please use a good basmati rice for best results. Using about 2/3rd of the water required to make the rice, cook rice separately till half cooked. Now place a layer of chicken 'curry' then a layer of rice then chicken again and top off with rice. Each layer of rice should be sprinkled with a saffron solution: soak about a teaspoonful of saffron in a cup of milk before you start cooking the chicken. This will be well soaked by now. Sprinkle half of it over each layer of rice. Cover pot tightly. If you do not have a tight fitting lid, make a stiff dough with wheat or all purpose flour and seal the pot. Now place it on a low-medium flame and finish the cooking: about 15 minutes. Try this. A lot of trouble but worth the effort. Hopefully I justified my two star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JShree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Nothing like any authentic biryani I have tasted, and most of my friends are Indian/Pakistani. Know that if you make this dish, it is a very watered down version of biryani, to the point of not being biryani. It's almost plain rice with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was very good. The flavors were subtle but distinctive even without the curry leaves. I halved the recipe and used one large chicken breast, which shortened the cooking time. It goes well with "Indian Dal with Spinach" also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a very good Biryani recipe overall, however it was extremely mild for Indian food. I fed it to my Indian boyfriend (whose mother makes waaay better biryani than I could probably ever hope to make) and he enjoyed it. I would definitely add more peppers or something. Another problem that I had was the fact that it doesn't tell us which type of green pepper to use. I don't remember which kind they were but they were the smaller ones (not jalapenos obviously)serrano peppers. Definitely use the basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is not at all like the Hyderabadi Biryani I learned to make in Hyderabad. You would never use anything but basmati rice for this dish. The best cooks marinate the chicken in the yogurt and spices. This is a good recipe but as far as it being authentic, it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This recipe came out totally wrong. I didn't even use the full amount of water but the rice just formed a huge glob, and it was pretty much tasteless. I was really disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent and easy to make. To flavor it a little add ginger to onions while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Oh my god, this is so good! Although I can handle heat pretty well I am surely no native; so I was skeptical about the amount of chilies. It turned out to be perfect, absolutely perfect. Best curry I've ever made and in the top 5 I've ever eaten. I will make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States