Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Curry leaves and curry spice (powder) are not the same thing. Curry leaves (Murraya koenigii) are also called Kari leaves and can be found at Indian/Asian grocery stores and have a lime smell to them. The best substitutes are bay leaves OR basil OR kaffir lime leaves (may be available at a Southeast Asian markets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is by far the best biryani recipe I have ever tried. The only change I made was to add a pinch of safron as it looked a bit pale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
just made this.. really enjoyable. I made some healthier changes. use brown basmati rice for eg but used all the required spices.. a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Couva, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a great easy recipe. I made a few adjustments. I decreased the ghee by about 1/2. I decreased the cloves to about 10 and the cardamom to about 4 and bay leaves to 3. I added a cinnamon stick, and 15 black peppercorns. I used fresh ginger and fresh garlic too. I did not use the green chiles bc the the kids wont eat them but the peppercorns gave it enough kick. I also added more salt. I added about a tablespoon of Shan Biryani spice mix too. Next time i think i will add a potato or two when i am cooking the onions. I used boneless chicken breasts too. It was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
When I read the recipe I was so excited to try it. Now I am just disappointed and have a big bowl of leftovers that may end up going to waste. Not a recipe that I will try again - way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I added a few extra spices: cardamom, turmeric, hing (asafetida) and left out the garlic. Also, I'm a vegetarian so I added chicken substitute, green peas, cauliflower and cashews. It's likely that my version is regionally confused but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sepalm1770

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is more of a pulav with absolutely no spices incorporated so probably RK you might need to go back and ckeck because this is definately not hyderabadi biryani from indian standards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Fabulous! My Indian husband was craving a good home made biryani and this recipe made him very happy. I used 5 serrano peppers the first time and the heat was just right. I also added cashews and golden raisins. Yum! I made it a second time for the kids and only used one serrano pepper, it wasn't enough spice. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Flavor is quite good--this isn't a very strong, flavorful biryani, but rather light and mild. I used black cardamom (instead of green cardamom) pods, which I think has a bit more astringent flavor. Serving size of this recipe is huge--for two people, just 1/4 of the recipe is plenty. Also, my rice turned out incredibly mushy. I think you might need to adjust the amount of water added (4 1/8 cups). I could have used 3 cups, and it would have been just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I'm only giving this three stars because biriyani is ALWAYS made with basmati rice, and no other. Biriyani recipes vary from person to person, and I have to say these ingredients are authentic, with the exception of bay leaves - usually curry leaves are used instead. The one-pot method used here can also be replaced by cooking the meat and rice separately, and layering them later. Just make sure you have enough gravy for the chicken to season the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eljaustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States