Chicken Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
made this years ago and couldnt find the recipe until now..... I cook this on the grill really high and till almost done and then after bringing sauce to boil put in a tin (or any oven safe container) then add chicken, cover and cook on 300 for about 30 minutes to an hour. It falls off the bone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I added a 1/2 cup of Mayo. It was delicious!!! My boys are picky eaters but raved about the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great recipe. Tastes just like fireman's carnival chicken. Wouldn't change anything. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
OMG!!!! I tried this recipe with the most fussy of people.....my daughter and....woot woot....success!!! I did not have cider vinegar and had to use regular vinegar and I added a tablespoon of fresh garlic......The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockmycountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic! Just like the Cornell or "white" chicken bbq sauce we discovered upon moving from red-bbq-sauce country to rural upstate NY. The Cornell recipe calls for gently heating the sauce since it's often made in bulk prior to the big event. All summer long one can smell wonderful fumes from the chicken bbq picnics and fundraisers -- fire depts, lodges, churches, scouts and charities! I made this sauce using the AR recipe for poultry seasoning, tossed a Ziploc bag filled with sauce and chicken into a very cold fridge for 2 hrs; used reserved sauce to baste grilling chicken. Everything must be cooked to a very safe temperature. My belief system regarding barbeque sauces: all good, some better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Marinated for 1-1/2 hr., but I think it would be best to marinate overnight (if possible), as I didn't get too much of the marinade flavor. The chicken browned nicely at about 35 minutes and it was moist, but the flavor was lacking just a bit...but was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is the chicken recipe that I got from my uncle, the fireman. It is the one the local firemen used at their dinners. Small world. And great chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Like the last reviewer Dorothy, this is an old family recipe and I am here to find it. My wife, another Dorothy, has this and many of my mothers other recipes written down in a small notebook. Unfortunately I can't find it, Dorothy is at work, and I want to prepare this for a picnic at a beach park here in Hawaii after I pick D up from work. This is an excellent recipe as is. Growing up in northwestern PA as a kid, my father used to shovel a path through the snow to prepare this on his grill. He used to cook half chickens, and yes we would all eat a full half. Today I usually use split breasts. The only disadvantage to them is the skin often peels back. It's not good for you, but that is where much of the flavor is. My family never marinated the chickens, but I do now sometimes if time permits. There is not a lot of difference. We also pre-bake the chicken covered with foil for about 30 to 45 minutes at 350 to reduce the grilling time. That also reduces the fat content in the chicken, so "fire control" at the grill is less time consuming and saves more beer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Funny -- my name is Dorothy and I had a recipe almost exactly like this from my former mother-in-law! Glad I found this to remind how to make it. I always make a lot more: 1 c. oil, 2 c. white vinegar, 1/2 box of poultry seasoning, 2 eggs, garlic and black pepper and usually a good splash of beer. I boil it on the stove and then let it cool. I also sometimes parboil the chicken to save time, then marinate, then charcoal grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! Do not change a thing. Those that left low stars were expecting tradition bbq sauce which this is not. This marinade is perfect just the way it is. Do not substitute the oven for the grill...or you will be dissapointed. Nice flavor for the whole family. My 6 year old and teens like it and they are picky. We don't think this is too salty and think it would be lacking if left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States